One down, six to go

I started reading The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People a long time ago. Didn’t finish it. I did pick up one tip, though. Organize your to-do list into four categories: Urgent & Important, Important Not Urgent, Urgent Not Important, Not Urgent Not Important. So many times I get overwhelmed with thoughts of all the things I need/want to do swirling around in my head. If I categorize things this way it makes it all seem less daunting.

The temptation is to spend time on the two “urgent” categories regardless of whether the items are important or not. I feel so much more accomplished at the end of the day if I’ve crossed off all or most of the “Urgent & Important” items and some of the “Important Not Urgent” items.

Somehow laundry always falls onto the Not Urgent, Not Important category. Until we all run out of underwear and then it suddenly is bumped up to the top.

Now I want to go back and learn the remaining six habits. Maybe then I’ll be a highly effective person!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

