Warren Buffett’s Oriental Trade (totally unrelated to the election)

I read today that Warren Buffett‘s company has bought Oriental Trading.  I was so glad to hear; I loved looking through their catalog as a kid.  Something about the idea of stickers, finger catchers, and slap bracelets–by the gross!–mesmerized me.  And for several years when we were little my parents let my sisters and me throw Valentine’s Day parties decked out with pink and red Oriental Trading goodness.

The Deluxe! Mega! Toy Assortment
250 pieces for only $36!

Apparently the company changed hands several times recently and hasn’t been doing so well.  A father founded the company in the early 1900s; passed it on to his son; when the company was still doing well, the son sold to a private equity firm, etc.  Makes you wonder why the son didn’t hang on to it.  But now Warren has it, and it’s in good hands.

Come to Papa

Now if only they could manufacture in the USA . . . .

Okay, back to refreshing the election results on CNN.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

