Menu Plan Monday, Fifteen Minutes of Fame Edition

Linking up again with Org Junkie for Menu Plan Monday.

We’re starting week 7 on the Perfect Health Diet  (PHD).  The authors kindly linked on their blog to my Menu Plan post of two weeks ago and I saw my readership skyrocket, at least temporarily.   Quite the thrill, especially to see that people from all over the world were reading about my paleo pancake discovery.  So thank you to the Jaminets!

Through the PHD link-up I also made acquaintance with the folks over at Catholic Hunter Gatherer, a Catholic paleo diet blog (tagline: “Orthodox Catholicism, Heterodox Food”; love it).  I look forward to a lot of great insight from them.

Unfortunately I don’t have any new recipe demonstrations this week.  I do highly recommend this recipe for wild rice “stuffing.” It is delicious.  I brought it to Thanksgiving dinner and it seemed well received.

I’m not sure whether wild rice is actually PHD friendly, as it’s not a true rice.  I used a gluten-free wild rice blend, though, and even that was combined with white rice.  So, the amount of actual wild rice is pretty low.

 I made a few changes to the recipe:

  • I doubled the amount of mushrooms.
  • I added about a cup of toasted chopped pecans.  I think the crunchy pecans contrasted nicely with the chewy rice.
  • I used Lundberg Wild Blend Rice in place of wild rice.
  • I used jasmine rice is place of basmati.
  • I skipped the parsley.
  • I used a cup of frozen pre-chopped onion and green pepper in place of the fresh onion.

I’m going to make it again this week, adding some ground beef to make it more of a main dish.

Also, I just discovered a new smoothie recipe.  Pretty basic but quite delicious.  Girl 1 likes it, which can be said for almost nothing these days.

I made the following changes:

  • I use powdered ginger or just skip it.
  • I add some coconut milk in place of some of the ice.  I don’t need my smoothies super icy, and I want to get more coconut fat in my diet.
  • I use regular, whole-milk yogurt in place of Greek.
  • I use canned pineapple in juice.

I’m re-discovering smoothies.  They used to seem like too much work because each time I took the blender from the cabinet and afterward disassembled it to wash it.  Now I’ve reserved some counter top real estate for it, and I’m just rinsing it out after most uses.  So, I’m thinking more smoothies will be in my future.  (Pat doesn’t like them, but he’s generally on his own for breakfast anyway.)

Here’s the menu for the rest of the week:

  • Breakfasts: Paleo pancakes, yogurt with fruit, Pineapple smoothie
  • Lunches: Leftovers, roast beef “sandwiches” wrapped in lettuce
  • Dinners:
    • Monday: Chicken soup  (something along these lines) with leftover rotisserie chicken
    • Tuesday: Rice stuffing with less sausage and some hamburger added
    • WednesdayHamburger vegetable soup
    • Thursday: chicken and roast vegetables (like the dish Jen describes here)
    • Friday: salmon and potatoes or rice and a veggie
    • Saturday: Cheeseburgers (sans bun) and parmesan potato packets on the grill
    • Sunday: beef stew

I literally just fed the baby a crust of bread on the floor under the table.  I guess I should get off the computer.

That’s all folks!  Have a delicious week!

2 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday, Fifteen Minutes of Fame Edition

  1. So I’m hungry and this entry isn’t helping. We’re slowly going paleo … slowly. First cutting out the breads (which is huge). Tonight I think we’re going to do roasted chicken with potatoes and carrots. I’m been wanting kale so much lately … too bad Jacob doesn’t dig the whole kale things. Mmmm, you should include it in your recipe one of these days. Throw it into a pan of olive oil/coconut oil (whichever is the paleo thing to do) and add garlic, salt, pepper — delish!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

