Romance At Age 3: A Drama In Two Parts

Vintage Postcard ~ Little Boy & Girl

Vintage Postcard ~ Little Boy & Girl (Photo credit: chicks57)

Girl 1, at the tender age of 3 and 3/4, has developed an unmistakable crush on a little boy in her preschool class.  This situation has sent my husband into dramatic flights of fancy, the result of which I share with you now:

“Girl 1, I don’t like this Kyle boy.  I hear he is a trouble maker and I can tell from hearing you talk about him that he is rotten to the core.  I forbid you from seeing him ever again.”

“But Daddy, …I love him!”

“what? Love?! Ha! What do you know of love? You’re too young to be in love.”

“i do love him and we’re going to be married!”

“against my wishes? Never! You’re going to be locked in your room for the rest of your days!”

“oh my sweet Kyle, come rescue me!”

“Girl 1, you know that I want for you to marry Florebert”

“But Daddy! Florebert is fat and bald at 3 years old, and he smells of rotting trout!  He is also afraid of grass and likes to chase the girls around trying to kiss us!”

“I don’t care what he smells like and there’s nothing wrong with being bald. Florebert has wealth, ….land… …cattle…”

“But Daddy I don’t care about any of that stuff!  When I marry, I marry for love!”

“There you go with the Love stuff again.  Have you no respect for our society’s traditions?!?!”

“Bother your traditions!  Kyle and I are in love!”

“Bother our traditions?!?!  This is the last straw!  Florebert’s father and I have an agreement, and you’ll marry him tomorrow at dawn!”

“I would rather die!”

“Go to your room!”

WILL KYLE COME FOR GIRL 1?  OR WILL GIRL 1’S FATHER DOOM GIRL 1 TO A LIFETIME OF FETCHING FLOREBERT HIS SLIPPERS?  TUNE IN NEXT TIME TO FIND OUT!

* Names have been changed to protect the blissfully unaware.

One thought on “Romance At Age 3: A Drama In Two Parts

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

