What I Wore Sunday (and Saturday), The Scarlet and the Black

This is what I wore to Mass this morning:

Coat: Esprit (do they even exist anymore?)Dress: LOFT (thrifted)Boots: Naturalizer

Coat: Esprit (do they even exist anymore?)
Dress: LOFT (thrifted)
Boots: Naturalizer

I’m trying out the pigeon-toed stance that so many people seem to use.  I don’t get it.

I was excited to see Jen Fulwiler’s article in the National Catholic Register of this past Wednesday.  She writes about how putting on Sunday best helps her be in the right mindset.  She gave a shout-out to the What I Wore Sunday link-up, which is pretty exciting.  Yay to Kendra and Emily of Fine Linen & Purple for coming up with such a great idea! (Jen’s link explains why my blog had so many hits that day.  I knew even my mom couldn’t be reading and re-reading my posts that often.  😉

Jennifer’s article made me think that maybe I haven’t been selecting my Mass outfits so well.  For instance, I really like the way this outfit looks, but it is not well-suited for attending Mass with young children.  My blouse kept coming untucked (even though I’m not nursing anymore), the belt kept sliding around, etc.  It wasn’t immodest, and I don’t know that my fidgeting with clothes distracted anyone else, but it distracted me.

So, today I kept it simple with a dress that is comfy yet looks nice and always feels appropriate.  Even then, it tends to slide down a bit in the front.  *Sigh* Sometimes  I envy men and how simple getting dressed is for them.

On a happier note, Pat and I went out with friends last night for dinner and a performance of A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  It was the first time we had had a real night out in a long time, and I’m very grateful to my in-laws for taking the girls for the late afternoon and evening.  They even brought them back to our house to put them to bed.  Both of Pat’s parents were snoozing on our couch when we came back around 1:00 am.  Very sweet.

This is what I wore out:

image (1)

Dress from Lands’ End

image

Jacket (at least 6.5 years old!) from Old Navy

It was fun to be able to wear a necklace again!

Girl 1 opened the first door of our Advent calendar today (gift from my mom and day), and Pat is getting down our Advent wreath and Christmas decorations from the attic now.  Girl 1 is soooo excited that Christmas is coming, even though she doesn’t understand it all yet.  Enjoy your first Sunday of Advent everyone!

For more Sunday finery, check out the link-up at Fine Linen and Purple.  Thanks as always to Kendra and Emily for hosting the fun!

 

12 thoughts on “What I Wore Sunday (and Saturday), The Scarlet and the Black

  1. Both outfits are great, but I especially like your date-night outfit! The dress is great. AND I remember you buying that red blazer. I think I may have been with you. Lovelovelove… YOU!

    • Yeah, a lot of my recent Old Navy purchases are the former and past Old Navy purchases are the latter . . . meaning, I think their quality has gone downhill. Also, the quality of their men’s wear is better than their ladies’.

  2. I love red and black together, and they are both very flattering on you. I give almost no attention to my mass attire, and I am hoping that the excellent examples here will give me a little nudge to put better effort into it.

  3. Hi! Did you see Midsummer Night’s Dream at Shakespeare Theatre? What did you think? I went alone, frustratingly, as I had lots to say about it afterward! 🙂

    • Hi MK! Yes, the same one. I thought it was entertaining but I could have done without all the near-nudity and the “whore fairies,” as a friend called them. 😉 It’s been years and years since I read it. What did you think? Do tell!

      BTW, did someone post a link to my blog on FB? I’m seeing lots of hits coming from there but I’m not on FB anymore so I can’t see the link itself.

      • Martha posted a link to her blog on Facebook. I was reading it, and came across yours. I had no idea you had a blog. I had some downtime today at work, and I think I read your whole blog. 🙂

        As far as Midsummer, yes, I disliked the costumes. There was ZERO dramatic reason for them. It just didn’t make sense. If the fairies worked in a brothel, a la Les Miserables, I wouldn’t have had a problem with them. But they didn’t. I find McSweeney to be very lacking as a Shakespeare director. This was the third Shakespeare production of his I’ve seen, and I’ve not been impressed with one. Last year’s Much Ado was the best of the lot. My problem with him is that he focuses on his conceits to the exclusion of the story. Instead of using his conceit as a way into the story (as Ralph Fiennes does in his brilliant film of Coriolanus), he uses Shakespeare as a vehicle for showcasing his conceits. His productions don’t give me new insight into the play; they’re not thought-provoking. He also ignores language. Midsummer Night’s Dream has some of THE most gorgeous poetry in all of Shakespeare. “now they never meet in grove or green, by fountain clear or spangled starlight sheen.” in my opinion, their exquisite poetry gives them a dignity that story-wise — and McSweeney-wise — they might lack. At any rate, it gives them a beauty they lack in this production. If you’ve directed a production of Midsummer Night’s Dream and that poetry doesn’t come across, you’ve failed, in my opinion. I couldn’t even distinguish what the characters were saying in the mud fight. Also, the night I went, Titania, Oberon, and the four lovers were all rather shrill and one-note. That’s a directorial failure, partly at least. He should have forced them into nuance. At least to stop being shrill! I think it’s just another sign that he doesn’t take language seriously, which is a BIG problem for a Shakespeare director. He can do visually gorgeous — that entrance with the white background and the snow was exquisite — but I find him thoroughly lacking as far as giving insight into the play. When I go to see a Shakespeare play, I want new insight into it. In the case of Midsummer, I’d also like to drown in the beauty of the language. I have no problem with updated productions. I love smart modern takes as well as, most of all, smart, updated classic takes. But too often directors who decide they have to change all the circumstances care far more about their conceit than they do about the play. Everything should be at the service of the play. If setting it on the moon will really give the audience an insight into Shakespeare, go for it! But mostly I think directors who update care more about being creative and new than they do about the play. Not that I feel strongly about any of this or anything. 😉

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

