Menu Plan Monday, Paleo Apple Crisp Edition

I’m linking up again with Org Junkie for Menu Plan Monday.

We’re starting week 8 now on the Perfect Health Diet  (PHD).  We fell off the wagon in a big way this weekend.  Among other dietary sins, Pat and I stopped at Wendy’s late Saturday night and got burgers.  Mmm-mm.  I’m not a huge bread person, but that white, fluffy bun sure does make the burger delicious (Panis carnem reddit?).  But now I’m putting all thoughts of bread behind me and gearing up for another week of healthful eating.

Fortunately, healthy eating can include some apple crisp.  I’ve experimented with different paleo apple crisp recipes for a while, and I finally came up with my own version that I like.  Perhaps it isn’t technically “paleo” because it has butter in it.  It is PHD compliant, though.  I suppose you could use all coconut oil and no butter, but I think the butter adds some good flavor.

This recipe got rave reviews from the family members we had over for dinner on Sunday, and they aren’t following a paleo diet themselves.  With all the nuts and dried fruit, it does sit a little heavy on the stomach, but that just keeps me from over-indulging.

Laura's grain-free, sugar-free apple crisp

Laura’s grain-free, sugar-free apple crisp

Laura’s Grain-Free, Sugar-Free Apple Crisp

  • 6 large Granny Smith apples, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1/2 c. almond flour
  • 1/2 c. chopped pecans
  • 1/2 c. chopped dates (unsweetened)
  • 1/4 c. figs, chopped and stems removed
  • 3 T coconut oil (solidified)
  • 3 T butter (softened)
  • 2 tsp + 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Toss apple pieces with 2 tsp. cinnamon and place in 8″ x 8″ baking dish.  Combine the rest of the ingredients in a bowl, using a pastry blender to work in the coconut oil and butter.  The mixture will be a coarse paste. Spread it over the apples.  It will be a little clumpy.  Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 50 min.  Best if served hot and topped with homemade whipped cream (unsweetened).  Yum!

It took me years to figure out that a pastry blender is one of these and not some fancy electric mixer.

Pastry Blender

Pastry Blender (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now you know.  No no, no need to thank me.

Also for Sunday dinner, I made pan-fried rib-eye steaks, with onions and mushrooms in a butter and red wine pan sauce.  I cannot cook steaks without a smoke and grease extravaganza.  I have a great All-Clad saucepan (kind gift from my sister), but the house still fills with smoke because I sear each side on super high heat for a minute or two.

Steak with Mushroom-Wine Sauce (78/365)

Not my picture, but my steaks looked something like this (Photo credit: ozfoodie)

Man oh man was it good.  Kind of like Pioneer Woman’s recipe, but I cook the steak first then sauté mushrooms and sliced yellow onion in the drippings, plus some red wine and butter.  Aw man, I’m still getting all dreamy-eyed thinking about that steak.  Or maybe that’s because it’s 11 pm.

Okay, here’s the menu for the rest of the week:

That’s all folks!  Have a delicious week!

4 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday, Paleo Apple Crisp Edition

  1. Wow. Can I come up and just eat off you (and love on the girls) all week? These sound uuuuhmazing and I’m so happy you have an apple crisp recipe b/c I was definitely craving some last night but didn’t have a chance to whip something together. Oh well. Jacob and I just finished off our Haagen Daaz *winkwink*. Anyway, I have dates and maybe some nuts I could toss into the mix so I’ll have to do a whirl with it.

    Oatmeal is off the PHD-okay list, isn’t it?

  2. Pingback: Date Nut Bread | familyrecipebooks

  3. Pingback: Date Nut Filling | familyrecipebooks

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

