Is Losing Weight Like Finding Your Way In the 100-Acre Wood?

Or, Why I’m Giving In and Buying New Jeans

As I’ve written before, I’ve been inspired by Jennifer Fulwiler’s account of overcoming food addiction and losing weight through her “saint diet,” which is similar to the Perfect Health Diet that Pat and I are following.  Jennifer wrote a really inspiring post about how she finally got on the path to healthy eating habits when she was pregnant and her focus wasn’t on losing weight.  Only when she stopped trying to lose weight did she start losing weight.

Well, I do want to lose weight.  Not a lot of weight, just the last few pounds I need to get back into the jeans I was wearing two years ago.  So far I’m not losing weight on the Perfect Health Diet.  (The only weight loss method that reliably works for me is restricting and counting calories, and who wants to do that??)

Perhaps I need to stop trying to lose weight in order to lose weight.  It reminds me of Pooh and Rabbit and Piglet’s predicament when they got lost and kept circling around and coming back to the same sand pit:

“How would it be,” said Pooh slowly, “if, as soon as we’re out of sight of this Pit, we try to find it again?”

“What’s the good of that?” said Rabbit.

“Well,” said Pooh, “we keep looking for Home and not finding it, so I thought that if we looked for this Pit, we’d be sure not to find it, which would be a Good Thing, because then we might find something that we weren’t looking for, which might be just what we were looking for, really.”

“I don’t see much sense in that,” said Rabbit.

“No,” said Pooh humbly, “there isn’t. But there was going to be when I began it. It’s just that something happened to it on the way.”

What does all this have to do with buying jeans?  Well . . .

I have six pairs of full-length jeans, all the same size on the label but of varying actual sizes.  Only the three biggest pairs currently fit: two Limited “Cassidy” bootcut jeans that I’ve had for over six years, and one Gap “Long and Lean” pair that I picked up at a yard sale somewhere.  I have refused to buy new jeans in the past 10 months since Girl 2 was born (okay, except two cropped pairs I bought to get me through the summer), because Iamgonnagetbackintomyoldjeansgoshdarnit!! The pairs that currently fit all look more or less like this:

IMG_0803

I’ve genuinely worn a hole in the knee of one pair:

IMG_0804

Apparently bootcut pants are sooooooo passe, and they drag on the ground a bit when I wear sneakers.  Also, I like tucking my jeans into my boots to show off all that pleather.  So hide-you-boots-cut jeans are sub-optimal for many reasons.

Lately I’ve taken to pegging and rolling them a bit to make them the current hotness that are “boyfriend jeans” (or perhaps it’s for that “classic 80s look,” as Reliant K puts it in their how-to here).

IMG_0805

Then I took a good long look in the mirror:

IMG_0806

Hmmm.  These are more “your-boyfriend’s-mom’s jeans.”  Oops.

On Thursday I found myself with only one clean pair of jeans, plus the white cropped jeans I bought over the summer.  I previously put together an outfit, which I thought was pretty cute, using those white jeans.

IMG_0497

 I had a playdate at a friend’s house planned for Friday (Hi Alaina!), but I realized I would feel like a pretty silly in my accidentally-on-purpose half-tucked chambray shirt and white jeans tucked into boots . . . for a playdate.  This outfit might be nothing for people like the fabulous Shana, who wears leather short-shorts with booties while out and about with the kids,

Shana of aintnomomjeans.com

but I’m just . . . not there yet.  Plus the white crops don’t fit so well anymore. (I haven’t lost weight but the pants seem to have lost their shape.  Stupid LOFT.)  They sag and I have to hike them up continually, which makes me feel even more like a awkward, pathetic poser.

So, leaving my bootcut blue jeans clean for the playdate on Friday (I’m not above wearing jeans several times before washing, but there’s no guarantee they’d be fit to wear out again after a day at home with the girls), I was left with this to wear on Thursday:

IMG_0801

Perfect for the preschooler dropping-off and picking-up, diaper-changing, food-preparing, volunteer phone-calling, floor-mopping, laundry-folding day ahead.  I did have book club that night, but it was a cold night and I threw on a sweatshirt, resulting in something like this:

IMG_0492

So all this is a long way of saying that I’m buying new jeans!!!!  Or maybe I’ll put them on my Christmas list and, if I don’t get them from Santa, I’ll buy them for myself next time they go on sale.  I’m thinking I’ll try these:

Old Navy “Sweetheart” Skinny Jeans

or these:

Old Navy “Sweetheart” Real-Deal Straight-Leg Jeans

Old Navy’s quality has disappointed me lately.  Also, I’m wary of skinny jeans because they generally only look skinny on already-skinny people.  But Old Navy is fairly good at translating trendy styles into real-body fits.  Plus, these jeans are recommended by Modern Mrs. Darcy.  What’s good enough for Mrs. Darcy is good enough for me (merely a modern Elinor Dashwood).

And even if they do fall apart after a few months, as Old Navy clothes are wont to do, maybe by then I will have lost weight.

Because I’ve stopped trying to fit into my old jeans.

The End.

4 thoughts on “Is Losing Weight Like Finding Your Way In the 100-Acre Wood?

  1. Oh your Pooh quote was perfect. Positively perfect. Do you have a sewing machine? Access to one at Gma S’s place? You should pick one of your bootcut jeans and see what you can do to make then “skinnified.” You’ll succeed too in your goal. Don’t worry. And if you need any extra incentive for offering things (helpings? snacks?) up, think of my dear hubby who can use all the prayers and sacrifices he can get!

  2. Way to tell it like it is! Shopping for jeans is sooo not fun, but it’s worth it to have jeans that actually fit!

    That picture of the Old Navy straight leg jeans is super-cute. I agree with you about ON quality–it can be kind of sketchy–but my jeans have held up 🙂

    Good luck!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

