Never Too Old To Play Dress Up

Sooo, Thursday was one of those days.

IMG_0862 IMG_0859

 

Come 5:30 p.m., the girls were fed but still grumpy.   Soup for Pat and me was simmering on the stove, but Pat wasn’t due home for another hour.    The house looked like this:IMG_0871

IMG_0872

Christmas tree righted but not much else

I contemplated getting the girls ready for an early bed time, but fiiiiiiiirst, I rested my tired bones on the couch and scrolled through the blog reader on my phone.  I saw that Grace of Camp Patton did a fashion post called “Open to Interpretation,” where she takes an “inspiration” outfit picture and recreates/reinterprets the look with her own clothes.

This was the “inspiration”:

This was Grace’s interpretation:

Thinking this was a blog link-up, and noticing that some of the pieces I own would kind of work, and since I  obviously had nothing better to do, I said what the heck, and . . . . I hauled the girls down to the (finished!) basement for some Sesame Street, locked the baby gate behind me, and began a nice relaxing game of dress up.

Here’s what I came up with:

IMG_0864

Cardigan from Target, Skirt from LOFT

Big pearls with sparkly beads, gift from my sister Lizzie.

Big pearls with sparkly beads, from Ann Taylor, gift from my sister Lizzie.

IMG_0866

Naturalizer

Material of the skirt.  It looks more golden in real life.

Material of the skirt. It looks more golden in real life.

I was happy to find a use for this cardigan.  I love it because it reminds me of the print in Kate’s dress here:

but it never fit right with the outfits I’d tried it with before.

Later that night I went back to Camp Patton and realized it wasn’t a link up after all.  Just something a few blogger friends do amongst themselves.  😦

Oh well, my faithful readers still get to share in my fun.  Hi Mom!  Hi Dad!

2 thoughts on “Never Too Old To Play Dress Up

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

