[I Will] Own the Night, New Year’s Reflections Part 3

After all the tantalizing lead up (here and here), now is the moment you’ve all been waiting for, the moment when I reveal my New Year’s Resolution:

No more internet

After 8 p.m.

Except e-mail and Netflix

Except Friday and Saturday nights.

I started Wednesday night, and it feels so weird.  I can’t count the number of times a thought crossed my mind and I turned to look it up but then stopped myself.  I kind of felt in withdrawal.

My evening was so peaceful, though.  It was quieter, too, without that loud flushing sound that I usually hear at night as my time goes down the toilet.

The big downside of this resolution is that I will have less time for writing this blog.  I’m sad about this because I do enjoy it.  My perspective is a bit different than Lizzie’s in that I feel like the time I spend blogging is well spent.  It’s certainly much better spent than time I used to spend on Facebook.  I know not many people read my blog, and I know I’m not doing much to improve the lives of those that do.  Somehow, though, just getting my thoughts on (virtual) paper is valuable to me.  I have way too much swimming around in my head and writing some of it down is therapeutic.  Also, I would like to be a writer in some capacity other than just a legal one, although I don’t have anything specific in mine.  Blogging is the simplest starting point I can think of, and sharing my blog with a readership beyond just friends and family is a part of that.  I (certainly!) don’t obsess about style and grammar but I think I’m gradually improving.

But.  But. But.

I can’t seem to write blog posts at night (which is usually when I find the time) without first reading all the new posts from the blogs in my blog reader (that number increases every week).  And then I read things that they link to.  And then I Google a random thought that comes to me.  And then I check to see whether that thingamajiggy is on Amazon (of course it is).  And then I check to see if anyone has posted anything on Pinterest in the last ten mintues.  And then . . .

Lizzie might have used this in her New Year’s resolution post, but I swear I thought of it first.

Yeah.

So right now I’m writing this in Word.   It’s 10:15 p.m.  I’m feeling tired so I’ll end this and turn out the light.  I’ll copy and paste it into WordPress in the morning afternoon.   Maybe I’ll be rested enough to get up and post this before the girls wake up.   Or at least I’ll be well-rested whenever I do wake up.*  My finger is itching, just itching, to click open my web browser, but I’m not gonna do it.

Wish me luck.

* I was neither up before the girls nor well-rested this morning, due to an overabundance of wakeful children in our house last night.  But I did resist the temptation to browse the web.  Surely, surely virtue is its own reward.

2 thoughts on “[I Will] Own the Night, New Year’s Reflections Part 3

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

