Menu Plan Monday, No Sh*t Sherlock Edition

I’m linking up again with Org Junkie for Menu Plan Monday.

As I’ve obsessed about often, despite following the Perfect Health Diet  (PHD) for months now, I haven’t lost any weight.  In fact I’ve been gaining.  I’ve given it a lot of thought and done some scientific research and have come to a very cutting-edge hypothesis:

Maybe I should stop drinking 1/4 cup (or more) of heavy whipping cream in my coffee every day.

Just maybe.

Far-fetched, I know, but I”m going to give it a try.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

I’m trying some new recipes this week because I’m getting tired of our usual line up.

Actually, I probably won’t have salmon two days in a row.  But I’ll make these recipes this week in some order.  That’s all folks!  Have a delicious week!

7 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday, No Sh*t Sherlock Edition

  1. I bought some pre-cut/ cubed butternut squash the other day. It was really delicious broiled and seasoned. I probably miss out on so many vegetables in my life because I’m too lazy to prep fresh produce.

  2. LOL! on the heavy cream. guilty as charged also.

    Also make sure you’re not eating too much protein. For instance, I should only be eating about 180 calories from protein a day. Once I eat my three egg omelette to get my supplemental egg yolks, that’s pretty much it for me. I was listening to a podcast from the Fat Burning Man who had a guy on who said he needed to keep his protein down to 15% of calories (making it up the difference with fat, not carb), or he gained weight, even if he ate the same calories over all. My weight didn’t start to go down on PHD until I really got my macronutrient proportions right — which was about 200 calories from protein, about 400 to 600 of safe starch and the rest fat. I didn’t measure this, I let hunger drive me because I’m breastfeeding and I don’t want to cut too much. I’ve been doing PHD for about 6 months with zero movement on the scale, but the first week I got it all right I lost about 5 pounds. I had no hunger, no cravings, and this insane desire to exercise. It was like a switch. Keep tweaking, you’ll figure it out.

    • Hi Elizabeth. That’s great that you’ve found the right balance! Since I’ve been tracking it the past week or two, I’ve naturally been eating around 55% fat, 15% protein, 30% carb. That’s pretty close to the PHD ideal. Their weight loss guidelines say to cut back on fat, which makes the proportion 30-40% of each. After writing this post I’ve realized I’m averaging close to 2000 calories/day, which I guess is too much for me (and there are some days I don’t keep track and probably eat more) . . . it’s just hard to get away from that old calories in, calories out thing. Hence, the need to cut back on cream in my coffee. 😛

  3. Pingback: Reader Feedback: A Roundup with My Reflections | Perfect Health Diet

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

