A Beginner’s Guide To Good Enough Fish

**Update: Be sure to see Parts 2 and 3 of this “series” for better fish recipes.

As a busy blogger with multiple interests and talents, it can be hard to respond to the multitudinous questions and comments I receive from my loyal readers (i.e., sometimes my family members email me and it takes me a day or two to reply).  BUT when I received a comment last week from a devoted follower, whose name begins with SH and rhymes with “Erin,” and who may or may not be my sister-in-law, well, I couldn’t help but respond to her plea:

I currently have 0 fish dishes in my arsenal. I am a little afraid of fish and all the things that could go wrong. So if you feel like posting a beginner’s guide to fish (or seafood in general), I would FULLY support it!

I am at your service, Gentle Reader!  Here it is:

A Beginner’s Guide to Good Enough Fish

(If you want an intermediate or advanced guide to really good fish, you’ll have to go elsewhere, ‘cause I’m not there yet!)

So, for the first installment we’ll cook tilapia.

IMG_1230

The best way to defrost is to stick the fillets in a bowl of warm water:

IMG_1232

These fillets are so thin that they defrost in 15 minutes or so.

If you’re really in a hurry, stick ‘em in the microwave.  For just this one filet, I used the weight defrost option for four ounces, but that wasn’t enough.  So I put it in and entered four ounces again.  If you don’t have the weight defrost option, I think this is equal to putting it on 50% power for 3 minutes or so.

IMG_1233 IMG_1234 IMG_1235

Just keep checking it until the middle is no longer frozen solid but the edges are cooked as little as possible.

Mmm, appetizing.

Mmm, appetizing.

Don’t worry too much though, we’re only going for good enough!

IMPORTANT: Cover the fish in the microwave!  I forgot this important, important rule and spent precious time cleaning the microwave of smelly fish particles.  Yuck.

COVER THE FISH IN THE MICROWAVE!

COVER THE FISH IN THE MICROWAVE!

Once the fish is defrosted, dot it with butter and pour in a little lemon juice.  If you don’t eat dairy, you could use olive oil or coconut oil, I think.  Sprinkle some salt and seasoning of your choice.  Here  I’ve used lemon pepper but I don’t recommend using this much of it.  It tasted good but smelled bad.  Try using dill and/or garlic powder.  Or Mrs. Dash.

IMG_1238

Stick them back in the ‘crowave for 5 minutes at full power, then check them.

Remember, COVER THE FISH IN THE MICROWAVE!

If they’re still a little translucent and shiny looking, stick them in for another minute.  I think I cooked these for 6 minutes total.

The result:

Good enough fish

Good enough fish

Fish that is good enough to eat!  In under 30 minutes, including defrosting time!   Thanks to 10 Minute Meals for introducing me to this method of cooking fish.

IMG_1242

Next week, slightly more involved, but even better tasting salmon.

I’m linking up with OrgJunkie today for Menu Plan Monday.  Girl 1 and I are coming down with colds (again! why meeeeeeeeee???) so who know how much I’ll cook, but here’s my menu plan for this week.

  • BreakfastsPaleo pancakes , whole milk yogurt with fruit
  • Lunches: Leftovers, cold-cut “sandwiches” wrapped in lettuce**
  • Snacks: pistachios, fruit, rice cakes with cream cheese
  • Dinners:
    • Monday: Pot roast with carrots and potatoes
    • Tuesday: Shrimp over rice noodles with salad
    • (Ash) Wednesday: Baked salmon with rice and veggies
    • Thursday: Chicken stir-fry
    • FridaySalmon patties from Everyday Paleo
    • Saturday: Coconut pancakes and eggs
    • Sunday: ???

** I buy the nitrate-free cold cuts when I can.  I know that processed meat is bad for you, so I’ll try to find a substitute eventually.  For now, we don’t eat cold cuts more than twice a week or so.

Have a delicious week!

4 thoughts on “A Beginner’s Guide To Good Enough Fish

  1. Yes!!! I am definitely going to be trying this on Friday!! Also I like the pics of Pat, he makes a good food model. I think he should be in the blog more! (you’re welcome, Pat!!)

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

