Cakes of the Pan and Salmon Variety (Menu Plan Monday)

I’m linking up again with Org Junkie for Menu Plan Monday.

I don’t have a whole lot new to report this week, and I don’t have another installment of The Beginner’s Guide to Good Enough Fish.  But, I would like to draw your attention to two recipes I’ve enjoyed lately.

The first is for these Fluffy Coconut Flour Pancakes from Nourishing Days via She Cooks He Cleans.  They are grain-free and (if you use the coconut milk option) dairy-free, and delicious.  They are much more pancake-like than my go-to “Paleo Pancakes,” which are really just glorified scrambled eggs.

These are moderately time-consuming,  so I make them on weekend mornings or for dinner, not on busy weekday mornings.  I’ve made them three times now and I’ve tweaked them slightly each time.  The first time I didn’t have baking soda, so I used baking powder (I forget how much).  They were fine but not as fluffy as I would like and a little gritty.   Also I didn’t watch carefully enough and I burned them a bit.  The second time I used the called-for amount of baking soda and the texture was good but they tasted just a little like . . . baking soda.  Pat didn’t notice it though.

The last and best time, I halved the recipe (’cause I only had two eggs) and used canned, evaporated milk because I was out of the other milk options.  It was my best batch yet.  Fluffy, not grainy, and without a baking soda taste.  Oh, and I used rice syrup in place of honey.

No matter what the variation though, they were enjoyable each time and I will keep on making them.  It is important to read the directions carefully because coconut flour is peculiar and the texture of this batter is very different from ordinary pancake batter.

I’ve used Bob’s Red Mill coconut flour because that’s what I had on hand.  Nancy at She Cooks He Cleans recommends Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Flour.  I’ll try to find that when I run out of Bob’s and see if it improves the pancake texture.

This last time I made a strawberry topping out of frozen, unsweetened strawberries and a few spoonfuls of rice syrup (a Perfect Health Diet approved sweetener) simmered together on the stove.  Very tasty.

Secondly, I’ve made this recipe for salmon patties from Everyday Paleo several times now.  Really yummy.

From Everyday Paleo

The seasonings are great, though I left out the fresh ginger.  I only ever buy the powdered stuff, and I ran out of that.  Also, this last time I used frozen pre-chopped onions, which made the mixture a little watery, so I left out the lemon juice.

Because these don’t have breadcrumbs to help hold them together, you do have to make sure to cook them a full three minutes on a *hot* skillet before attempting to flip them.

I haven’t made the ginger mayo.  I just mix up a little yogurt, lemon juice, salt, and garlic and use that as a sauce.

Oh and this dairy-free, no sugar-added, paleo-compliant chocolate mousse??

Chocolate mousse (no added sugar)

Unbelievable.

But not Lent appropriate, so I’ll save the deets for later.

Here’s my menu plan for this week.  A lot of repeats are here from last week because I often come up with a different idea or have unplanned leftover nights.  That’s okay; the whole point of a menu plan is to avoid last-minute take out and extra trips to the grocery store, so it’s all good.

    • Monday: Tuna and rice noodles (with peas and cherry tomatoes and sesame seeds added)
    • Tuesday:  Leftover chili from Sunday
    • Wednesday: Salmon cakes described above
    • Thursday: Baked chicken and root veggies (try to cut down on white potatoes)
    • Friday: Salmon of some variety
    • Saturday: Chicken veggie stir-fry
    • Sunday: ??

Have a delicious week!

One thought on “Cakes of the Pan and Salmon Variety (Menu Plan Monday)

  1. We tried the salmon tonight and thought it was great!!! I did not have the same luck with the mayo–apparently regular olive oil is not the correct ingredient for it. I had it all made and the mayo even solidified really nicely, but it tasted terrible….like, well, olives. I’m going to try it again next time with grapeseed oil. But salmon cakes = delish!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

