What I Wore Sunday: Polka Dots and Stripes

No angst to report today!  Unlike last week and the week before, everything went as planned.  I spent Saturday evening prepping my hair, doing my nails (for the first time in months!) and choosing my outfit.   It was an incredibly boring Saturday night, but oh well.

This morning went smoothly.  I got up with the girls and let Pat sleep in.  I spent a little too long with the eyeshadow, again, but there was plenty of time so I didn’t neglect any of my duties.  Girl 1’s tights were on properly, and all our fingernails were clean.  I even said some of Morning Prayer and read the Gospel reading in advance.

So, hooray for good routines!  Now to keep it up . . . .

My outfit:

IMG_1457 IMG_1461 IMG_1462 IMG_1464

WARNING: DISGUSTING PARENTING WAR STORY BELOW

So, our fingernails were clean but Girl 2’s nose was not.  Her nose is running so much these days I don’t even notice it.  But once we got in our pew I tried to wipe it and boy, that was a mistake.  She shrieked, loudly and indignantly and repeatedly, so Pat had to take her to the back almost immediately.

They returned to the pew later, and Girl 2 had a fresh booger hanging out of her nose, just ripe for the picking.  I thought I could get it with one, quick swipe of a wet wipe.  (They say insanity is doing the same thing repeatedly and expecting a different result . . . .)  She shrieked, she screamed, she arched her back in protest, hit her head on the pew, and screamed even louder.  Blood curdling.  Poor Pat spent the rest of Mass with her in the vestibule.

Okay, for less grossness and more fashion, check out Fine Linen and Purple for their What I Wore Sunday link up!

17 thoughts on “What I Wore Sunday: Polka Dots and Stripes

  1. Poor Girl 2! I didn’t think I had ever heard her scream like that before. She seemed pretty placid in the vestibule when I saw her later.

    • Shrieking is Girl 2’s currency: she trades it for goods and services. The exchange rate is better in church than it is in the vestibule so she doesn’t engage the local market in the vestibule as much.

  2. Adorable outfit! I love the polka dots and stripes, and especially the pink sweater! Funny story about mass. We’ve had those nose-wiping meltdowns a lot recently!

  3. Love the pattern mixing, and that polka-dot skirt is too cute. Haha, the nose swipping story is too funny. I know what you mean- if I can just get one quick swipe then I’m sure there won’t be protest!

  4. I think this is my favorite thing you’ve worn for the link-up. I loooooove mixing patterns, and the pink and navy is perfection. You might even have inspired me to paint my nails tonight…

  5. LOVING the stripes and polka dots, and hair and makeup!
    Max also seems to be very educated in the exchange rates from Pat’s comment above. However, the main form of currency he carries with me is hair-pulling. Perhaps he sees it as a more masculine method??

  6. Hilarious…is it weird that I’m actually not too grossed out by the boogerage? You look so lovely, Laura–I know I’m a broken record at this point, but the stripes mixed with polka dots really are adorable! Navy and white is one of my favorite combos!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

