Ye Olde Weekly Food Poste: Of Routine and Root Vegetables

I missed Menu Plan Monday post this week but seriously, there’s nothing on my menu this week that hasn’t been there in recent weeks.  That’s okay, though.  Reading this blog post helped me realize that variety is overrated.  As long as our food is nutritious and tasty, I don’t mind that it’s repetitive.  Pat certainly doesn’t.  The girls, well, the girls’ menu lately has looked like this:

except when it looks like this:

See this post and the comments and the postscript of this post for the background there.

I came up with an easy root vegetable and sausage dish this past week, inspired by this roasted sausage and potato dish.  I am trying to get away from eating a lot of white potatoes, and the hubs doesn’t like sweet potatoes.

Roasted root vegetables and sausageNot a good picture, sorry.

Roasted root vegetables and sausage
Not a good picture, sorry.

The recipe is something like this, for 4-5 generous helpings (note that the dish above held only half of this, you need an 9×13, at least, to fit the whole recipe):

  • 1 lb. parsnips, peeled and chopped

    Parsnips

  • 3 turnip roots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 c. baby carrots
  • 2 small onions, peeled and chopped
  • as many sausages as you want, raw
  • Approx. 1/2 c. olive oil
  • Salt to taste

    Turnip roots

  • Garlic powder to taste,
  • Dried rosemary to taste
  • Thyme to taste

Put the onions in a baking dish and add the other vegetables on top.  (I think putting the onions on the bottom keeps them from getting too charred.)  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle on the salt and other seasonings.   Top with the sausages.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.  Turn the sausages and continue baking another 20 minutes.

I’m trying to remember this from memory so it may need some tweaking.  If you try this, please let me know what you think.

In other news, today I made–for the umpteenth time–these grain-free Fluffy Coconut Flour Pancakes from Nourishing Days via She Cooks He Cleans.  (I wrote about the recipe earlier, here.)  It was my best batch yet.  Man were they good!  

The variations this time:

  • I ran low on coconut flour, so I used maybe 1-2 tbsp. less than the half-cup the recipe calls for.  
  • For the first time, I went with the option of using 3/4 cup full-fat yogurt + 1/4 cup whole milk.
  • I didn’t measure carefully and I think I used a little more than 3/4 c. yogurt.
  • The batter was thinner, more like regular pancake batter, and the pancakes turned out really light and fluffy.  The pancakes also bubbled, like regular pancakes, as they were cooking.
  • They started to burn right after the flipping point so I had to watch them carefully and not leave them on the first side too long.

Mmm, mmm, mmm.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

