Menu Plan Monday: Spinach Soup

Cream of spinach and pea soup

The finished product looks something like this. (Photo credit: Danube66)

I’m linking up again with Org Junkie for Menu Plan Monday.

We’re still following the Perfect Health Diet, although I admit it almost all goes out the window on Sundays.  Because I can have what I gave up for Lent on that day, I tend to cram in all the other “bad” food, too.  *Sigh*

I recently tried a new creamy spinach soup recipe that Jen posted on Conversion Diary.  It’s very good and quite simple.  Here it is with some revisions of my own:

Spinach Soup

1 box (about 5 oz.) baby spinach leaves OR 1.5 cups frozen spinach
1 onion, chopped OR equivalent amount of frozen, pre-chopped onion
1 clove garlic, chopped OR equivalent amount of pre-chopped garlic
1 pt half and half
1 can chicken broth OR 14 oz. homemade chicken bone broth

Nutmeg to taste

Brown the garlic and onion in oil or butter until translucent. Add spinach and stir until cooked down. Add chicken broth to blender then put in spinach mixture and blend (or just add broth to the pan and use a hand blender).  Add the nutmeg to taste.

I’m trying out some new recipes this week.  As great as routine is, sometimes I just get bored.  Hopefully I’ll have something good to report next week.

Have a delicious week!

2 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday: Spinach Soup

  1. WOW! You are so ambitious with your meal planning! Love all these recipes, wish I were that organized, or my family wishes I were that organized! Can’t wait to check into your fashion posts, just saw them.

    Finally finished the Leibster post, so fun, thanks for thinking of me!

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday ~ March 18/13 - %%sitetitle%%

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

