Menu Plan Monday: “Philly Cheese Steak” Over Rice (Devolution of a Recipe)

Start with this recipe found on Pinterest and decide to improvise a bit (duh duh DUHN).

Balsamic pot roast from Add A Pinch

Use sirloin instead of chuck (because you’ve had the sirloin steak sitting in your deep freezer for one and a half years).

Put it in a saucepan on the stove instead of the crock pot, because you’re running low on time.

Simmer about two hours.

Become concerned when it looks like shoe leather.

Resist temptation to swat husband when he says something about Philly Cheese Steaks.  (“We’re not supposed to be eating bread!!!”)

Realize he may be on to something.

Slice up meat, add some onion slices, and simmer in the sauce.

Whip up some cheesy sauce in the ‘crowave using cream cheese, shredded cheddar, and milk.

IMG_1765

Serve over rice.

IMG_1763IMG_1761

Voila!  Philadelphians may call it blasphemy.  We call it Good. E. Nuff.

 

I’m linking up again with Org Junkie for Menu Plan Monday.

Have a delicious week!

3 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday: “Philly Cheese Steak” Over Rice (Devolution of a Recipe)

  1. Holden, my oldest, was walking by when I was reading this, and he has requested that I make Philly Cheese Steak Rice soon. 🙂 We do not eat a lot of meat, but I will definitely try this next week.

    • Nice! I hope y’all enjoy it. I don’t know if I made this clear, but it was still a little tough the way I made it, with sirloin. We thought it was still tasty, tho. If you make it with chuck, it will be tender but the meat will tend to shred when you go to cut it into strips. I’m not sure what the perfect balance would be. Let me know how it works for you.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

