Cauliflower Risotto and the Dark Side of Paleo {Menu Plan Monday}

Just today I tried this cauliflower “risotto” recipe from paleo guru Mark Sisson.  It’s delish (though time consuming)!  In place of bacon, I used proscuitto plus some extra olive oil.  And I simmered it longer than the recipe calls for, to get rid of the raw cauliflower taste and mouthfeel.  Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly.  I put butter and grated parmesan in Pat’s.  That was reeeeeally good (I tried a bite).  I left out all dairy from mine, and it was still quite good.

So here’s the dark side:

IMG_2604 IMG_2603 IMG_2605 IMG_2607

The paleo diet, or Perfect Health Diet, or any sort of whole-foods diet involves lots of chopping, peeling, and cooking, which lead to . . . lots of mess.  Throw into the mix a toddler who insists on feeding herself:

IMG_2598

This pic kind of pours salt on my wound because it makes the mess look much LESS than it was.

and multiply by  3 meals a day, plus a few snacks.  I feel like all I do all day is clean the kitchen.   I don’t cook something new for each meal but still . . . none of the stuff we eat is as easy as Hot Pockets and Lunchables.  I’m hardly the first person to have to clean a messy kitchen, but we’re still in Jen-sanctioned Complaining Week, so, yeah, I’m sick of cleaning the kitchen.

On to more constructive blogging:

I’m linking up with Org Junkie for Menu Plan Monday:

I’ll eat more of this delicious avocado egg salad this week.  I eat it on rice cakes.  To make it truly Perfect Health Diet compliant, I could make my own mayo with olive oil and eggs.  But instead I cheated and bought a small jar of Duke’s.

Avocado egg salad from Neverhomemaker.com

Our main meals will be (or were) the following (usually with a green salad on the side):

Rice wrap recipe from my little sister over at Romancing Reilly

Monday:  Cauliflower risotto discussed above, with simple baked chicken thighs

Tuesday: Cube steak with mushrooms and onions, with collard greens on the side

Wednesday: Spinach tomato frittata (I’ll try it without cheese for me)

Thursday: Pot roast

Friday:  Flounder fillets cooked some way or another

Saturday: Crock pot rotisserie chicken

Sunday: Rice wraps using leftovers

8 thoughts on “Cauliflower Risotto and the Dark Side of Paleo {Menu Plan Monday}

  1. That looks really good! And, oh man, I know what you mean about meal prep and kitchen clean-up. It eats up a lot of time, not to mention the time it takes to clean contributions toddlers leave on the floor! Why do pictures never show messes properly?

  2. I hear you on the dark side!!! To “rice” cauliflower, I steam it and then potato masher it. Just enough creates “rice” and too much makes “mashed potatoes.” Add salt and butter/olive oil!

  3. Cauliflower is probably the messiest thing I cook–it just seems to get EVERYWHERE. But it makes for an awesome faux-potato! That is one of Steve’s favorite sides.

    • Couldn’t find them! 😦 I thought I had seen them at the grocery store but they were regular egg roll wraps (wheat). We don’t have an Asian specialty grocery store ’round these parts.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

