“See How He Loved Him”: Mourning A Friend

Today’s readings at Mass were about Elijah’s and Jesus’ raising of two young men.  The Gospel reading for today’s morning prayer was an excerpt from the story of Lazarus.  I thought for the thousandth time of the Kane family.   Joseph’s funeral was yesterday.

James Joseph Kane, III

My sister Martha wrote more about Joseph’s disappearance in her blog.  I haven’t really blogged about it because . . . I don’t know.  This loss is so heartbreaking, and what is there to say?  I go about my days, but this weighs heavy on my heart.

Reading the guest book to Joey’s obituary is bittersweet.  I babysit him and his siblings years ago.  He served at Pat’s and my wedding Mass.  It was Ordinary Form-but-in-Latin.  Bless his heart, I don’t think Joseph ever had heard a word of Latin before in his life.  He was a bit apprehensive, but he agreed to serve at the last minute when our planned server couldn’t come.

IMG_2527

As the years went by and his sisters and my sisters and I grew up and moved away, I saw his family only occasionally.  I think the last real conversation I had with him was two years ago.  How heartwarming–though not surprising–to  learn what a wonderful young man he grew to be.

Please pray for my friends.  Thank you.

Eternal rest, grant unto him O Lord

and let perpetual light shine upon him.

May his soul and the souls of all the faithful departed,

through the mercy of God, rest in peace.

4 thoughts on ““See How He Loved Him”: Mourning A Friend

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

