Fish So Good My Kids Ate It {Menu Plan Monday}

I serendipitously came up with a good recipe the other day. I started making Cajun Spiced Flounder and realized I was out of most of the ingredients.  I improvised and . . . what can I say? My kids ate it, and that’s saying a lot.*

Flounder Cacciatore

Flounder Cacciatore

I’m calling it

Fish My Kids Ate (or Flounder Cacciatore)

  • 4 flounder filets
  • 3-4 T. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic from a squeeze bottle (or 2 cloves)
  • 2 T. dried, minced onion (or 1/2 c. chopped onion)
  • 1 4-oz. can of sliced mushrooms, drained
  • 1/2 c. cooking sherry (any white wine probably would work)
  • 2/3 c. marinara sauce (I used Delallo)
  • 4 artichoke heart quarters, chopped
  • Salt and pepper

Saute the garlic and onion in the olive oil on medium for about three minutes. Add the sherry and mushrooms and sauté about 5 minutes more. Add marinara sauce and artichoke hearts to the pan and stir it all around. Sprinkle the flounder with salt and pepper and add it to the pan. Reduce heat to low and simmer, uncovered, for about 15 minutes. Serve with rice or some other side that will soak up the delicious sauce.

* Okay, so Girl 1 ate three bites the first time I made it.  The second time, she refused to touch it.  But Girl 2 gobbled it up both times.

I’m linking up with Org Junkie for Menu Plan Monday:

Breakfasts: Hard-boiled egg, a banana, and coffee (sometimes with some unsweetened, vanilla almond milk) OR scrambled eggs with avocado and Jones all natural,  pre-cooked breakfast sausage (love these)

Lunches: Our main meal (see below)

Dinners: Leftovers, some variation of a big-ass salad, a smoothie, or a baked sweet potato

Monday: Crock pot rotisserie chicken, potatoes, salad

Tuesday: Spinach tomato frittata 

Wednesday: Flounder cacciatore (above)

Thursday: The Happy Housewife’s Marinated chicken with rice and a salad

Friday: Salmon cooked somehow or another

Saturday: Pizza using Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free pizza crust mix (I’m back to eating some dairy now, more on that later.)

Sunday: ??

8 thoughts on “Fish So Good My Kids Ate It {Menu Plan Monday}

  1. You kids must have much more sophisticated palates than my son, because if it has any sauce on it that isn’t ketchup, he’s not toughing it. BOOO him. Anyway, it looks really good. I might try making this weird fish I got a Trader Joes (wolffish) that way. I have no idea what to do with it!

    • I hope it works for that wolffish (never heard of it before!). I’ll bet it will. In truth, only Girl 2 ate it really. Girl 1 ate 3 bites the first time, and I got all excited and started writing this post. Because that’s 3 bites more than she’s eaten in a long, long time. But then the second time I made it she wouldn’t touch it. *sigh*

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

