Summer SAHM Uniform

So I’ve completed my online shopping saga (parts one and two) and have my summer uniform together:  

20130704-214641.jpg

Shorts, Necklace, Sandals, Shirt from Target (old)

20130704-214547.jpg

Skort, Sandals, Top and necklace sold out

 

 

20130709-221551.jpg

Skort, top and necklace sold out

20130704-214602.jpg

Skort, Top, Necklace from Peebles (old)

It’s even more uniform-y and boring than my Fall uniform, but:

Jackie O, Jackie Kennedy

Jackie O. image via Lacee Swan

. . . kinda sorta, right?

The pros:

1. Having a uniform really really works: 6 tops, 2 skorts, 1 pair of shorts, sandals, Top Siders, and necklaces.   I only have to think about 15 seconds in the morning about what I’m going to wear. Every top goes with every bottom, so as long as I have one of each that’s clean, I’m good to go.

2. Minimalism: I own fewer clothes than ever before in my adult life and I’m happier than ever with what I wear.  It feels so right.

3. I like wearing a skort.  It looks like a skirt, so I feel a little more dressy/pulled-together, but it’s super lightweight and comfy (elastic waist for the win!) and has built-in shorts so I don’t worry about flashing people as I wrestle kids in and out of the van.  I think my personal tastes tend toward something a little less flowy, but I couldn’t find anything more streamlined in the right length. Now that I look again, though, this might have worked in a Tall size:

Dipper skort from Athleta

For now, I’m happy with what I have.

The cons:  

1. The sandals, oh the sandals.  They really put the “Mom” in “Mom Uniform.”  I procrastinated finishing this post for multiple reasons, one of which being the absurdity of publishing something purportedly about “style” that contains pictures of these shoes.  

Style-wise, I would have been much better off with the Birkenstock Gizeh (or pretty much any other shoe on the planet):

The Gizeh even has the Ain’t No Mom Jean stamp of approval.  But it doesn’t come with Birkenstock’s soft footbed (only the original Birkenstock footbed).

I tried on the soft footbed and my feet, knees and back outvoted my eyes and sense of aesthetics 5 to 3.  There was no debate.  They do feel wonderful, but now I’m stuck with a very expensive pair of ugly sandals with no resale value and the lifespan of a tortoise.  

I suppose I could buy a better looking-though-less-comfortable pair of sandals to wear out and keep the ugly Birks for being on my feel around the house all day.  I’m aiming toward minimalism, though.  And I can’t stand the really flat, no-support type sandals for even a second.

 Just looking at shoes like these:

Women’s Merona® Erin Braided Upper Sandal

make my legs ache.  We’ll see.  

I started out my quest inspired by Crystal’s super-simple, plain-but-pretty, minimalist wardrobe.  I wanted to have a set of outfits that I could throw on in the morning without too much thought, wear at home with the kids and yet be able to wear in public without shame.  And I think I’m there.

So long as no one looks at my feet.

20130709-221603.jpg

Linking up with Andrea and Ellen for their Real Mom Style link-up.  Thanks ladies!

36 thoughts on “Summer SAHM Uniform

  1. Really cute outfits. I understand about the sandals. I am really only comfortable in good sneakers. If I am going out, I do change into sandals, although nothing like the gold ones you pictured! I’d love if they made really stylish shoes/sandals/boots that are truly as comfortable as sneakers!

  2. Love the Boden shorts and the shirt from the picture with you holding girl 2. My favorite outfit is the one with the necklace from pebbles. I like how you paired a necklace that pops with color paired with a simple dark shirt, it screams, “fun!” 🙂

  3. LOVE this post! If you’re looking for a “prettier” sandal w/ support I highly recommend this brand http://www.yoursole.com/products/sandals/ One of the local hospitals in our town sells them in their pharmacy, so I if you’re interested in trying on a pair in RL you might start there. Even looking at sandals with no support make my feet hurt! I wear these every day!

  4. Your outfits look awesome!! They look really stylish and also very comfortable. And I really like your new glasses too. I am inspired to do even more closet-cleaning-out!

  5. I love the idea of a “mom uniform”! I’ve been trying to do a similar reduction and streamlining of my closet, but with less success so far–I can’t ever make up my mind about what I want to focus on. Congratulations on your stylish, functional wardrobe! 🙂

  6. I really like the idea of the mom uniform. I’ve been so many sizes since my adult life I can’t imagine only having a few things. 🙂 I love the first look the best & sometimes you need to go with comfort. I can’t really wear heels anymore (only on rare occasions) because of my knees. You look great. Wonderful to find your blog – I’ll be back. 🙂

    Andrea
    http://www.mommainflipflops.com

  7. I can’t tell you how much I love that skort, I even like the flowiness of it 🙂 The clothes for your summer Mom Uniform are pretty much what I would wear year-round (because where I live it’s hot all the time). Except the skort, I don’t own one yet, but I’ll be looking for one soon. Have you tried Crocs sandals? I used to wear regular flip flops before and my feet hurt and my heels got cracked (is that too much information?)…anyway…I switched to Crocs, I own flip flops and a cute pair of wedge sandals and my troubles have disappeared, check them out.

    • Aw, thanks Erika. I think we could all do with a little less stuff . . . but of course the same degree of minimalism wouldn’t work for everyone. If I were in med school and doing rotations like you I would need a lot more. If you do downsize a bit, tho, I’ll bet a “shop my closet” feature on your blog would be a big hit.

  8. I don’t think Birks are that frumpy! Their hella comfy which, frankly, trumps cute in the real world. I love how your momiform came together and I’m envious of your minimalism. I need to do more of that… But I’m afraid of letting certain beloved (but not often worn) pieces go.

  9. First off good job. Secondly after moving this week I’ve become so so so inspired to cull the clothes. And I mean seriously cull. I also know this means ill have to fork over some cash to make it happen but it’s just gotta. There’s no way I’m going to move again next year with all this stuff! I guess I’ll have to check out polyvore after all.

  10. I love how easy your mix & match pieces are. I aspire to something similar, but my problem is that I’m not committed to a certain style. It just goes hand in hand with my identity crisis. I feel like, even 10 years after highschool, I can’t decide what look is “me.” If I could just go all out preppy-sports-chic, or all hippy/bohemian, or all young-professional then my life would be easier.

    What do I really wear? My underwear 75% of the time, scrubs 20% of the time, and the remainder 5%: the fourth outfit I try on before getting out the door.

    At least my New Year’s resolution is giving me some time to re-evaluate my desires.

  11. So…I realize this post is almost a year old, but I just found your blog and am really enjoying this series (fellow SAHM here, who feels exactly the same way about wanting to be minimalist and not frumpy). You probably already came across this, but I was shocked to discover in the last few weeks that birks have made a comeback as a trend this summer?? Looks like part of the trend is having “fancy” birks, but I suppose old ones could be spiced up a bit somehow, fairly easily. I personally am slightly (but not really) miffed over this whole thing, because I’ve mostly always stayed away from birk sandals, and now I’m like “what, they’re in style??” Lol. Just more evidence that fashion is a constant cycle! Which is good news, especially the older we get. Ha! 🙂

    • Hi Lindie. Thanks for stopping by. . . . Yes, I’m so happy to see that Birks are “back”! I’ve seen a lot of street fashion photos of people wearing the basic, two-strap “Arizona” model. All the same, this year I bought a pair of Birk’s “Gizehs.” A little sleeker than what I had before . . . I think. Anyway, I just love the way the feel, and I think I will keep wearing them for ever, whether they are “in” or not.

  12. I really needed to read this!! I have been feeling overwhelmed lately with too many sub-par options and taking too long to figure out what I’m wearing today. This is totally motivating to me to clean out my closet, pick my favorites, make sure they all match each other and get rid of the rest!! Thank you! 🙂

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

