Amazing Steak From Aldi {Ye Olde Sometimes-Weekly Food Poste}

I made some delicious steak a few nights ago and just have to share.

IMG_3309

I used these frozen sirloin filets from Aldi.  They were $5.60 per pound, which is not cheap but it’s much less expensive than you would usually pay for this cut of beef.

IMG_3310

I wasn’t sure what to expect from frozen steaks.  Maybe a connoisseur would find fault with the texture or something, but Pat and I both thought they tasted great!

I defrosted them on the kitchen counter (I like to live dangerously).  Then I seared them in a pan on the stove on medium-high heat for a few minutes on each side.  Then I broiled them in the oven.  Our broiler has “high” and “low” settings.  I used low because I’ve set things on fire before using high.  I don’t remember how long I broiled them, but they ended up medium-well, which I like.

I sautéed some fresh onion and mushroom in the pan with the steak drippings, adding some coconut oil, water, salt, and pepper.

Delish!

Aaaand, wouldn’t you know, just as I’m planning to write this post I read about how U.S. beef is all horrible and stuff (prior link didn’t work; sorry about that).  Anyway . . . if you can’t eat organic, grass-fed beef all the time, and you want some good but inexpensive steak . . . try the frozen sirloin filet from Aldi.

Linking up this week with Cari at Clan Donaldson for Theme Thursday.

For More About How We Eat, Read These:

14 thoughts on “Amazing Steak From Aldi {Ye Olde Sometimes-Weekly Food Poste}

  1. I enjoy meat and processed foods. I kind of avoid learning about the food industry because I know I’m just a hair’s breadth away from turning into an organic vegetarian. Ignorance is bliss.

  2. You know my sister has perfected the art of Aldi shopping, she is amazing and knows just what to buy, shops for a family of 8 off of a tiny budget, does really natural cooking (lots of Sally Fallon). She isn’t really a blog reader but I keep meaning to tell her to come over here and check this out!

    • Hi Rebekah! I don’t know that I have anything to say that your sister doesn’t know already . . . except to try these steaks if she hasn’t already. 🙂 You should have her guest post some time!

  3. Your blog has totally piqued my interest in Paleo-ish meals. I think I discovered you through Jen back when you were posting about cleaning out your closet, and you totally inspired me to do that too! So, from a fan, I am curious how you are ‘feeling’, body-wise, after making all of these eating changes. Aside from actually getting your vitals checked, do you feel better, less bloated, ‘healthier’, etc? Perhaps you could do a post on that!

    • Hi Kristen, Thanks for commenting! Short story is I feel better but I don’t notice as much of a difference as I would like . . . but then I cheat a lot when we eat out, etc. My husband has lost and kept off a considerable amount of weight, so that reassures me we’re doing something right. I’ll probably do a post on it in a month or two at our one-year mark of doing the PHD>

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

