On Getting Dressed In the Dark {WIWS}

Today I had plenty of sunlight while getting dressed, and here’s what I wore:

Lands' End blazer

Lands' End blazer

Last week, though.  Heh heh . . .

So, Saturday I was talking with some friends and we all agreed on loving to wear navy blue.  Except, I noted, that it’s harder to find things that coordinate because so many articles of clothing come in black.  Then someone pointed out that it’s now okay to wear navy blue with black.  Then I noted that you have to make it look like you did it on purpose (Shana says it so it must be true), whereas I would just look like I got dressed in the dark.

Well.  Somehow this completely escaped my mind when, not twelve hours later when I found myself, literally, getting dressed for Mass in the dark.  I didn’t remember it until I got to church and noticed I had put on my black pencil skirt, instead of my navy one.  Paired with the navy blue blazer, it was just . . . smashing.

IMG_3939

Eh, probably no one else noticed.  But still.  Embarrassing and a little ironic.  And, even now, I still have this song stuck in my head:


You’re welcome.

Okay, happy Sunday everyone, especially all of you linking up at at FL&P today!

Related articles

9 thoughts on “On Getting Dressed In the Dark {WIWS}

  1. I’m just beginning to be ok with black and brown together, and therefore grey and brown… but navy blue and black? You’re riding that fashion curve, Laura. I’m just not there yet!

  2. Love it! I’ve got a couple of items of clothing that are that fine line between navy and black and I waffle back and forth between what I think they might be… So mostly I just don’t wear them together because I don’t want people to think I got dressed in the dark!

    I really do love that first outfit – that shirt is one of my favorites, I really need to find a striped shirt that actually fits.

  3. Such great outfits, Laura!
    And one time I wore a navy and black outfit to mass on purpose, but I never felt comfortable about it! I think it’s too fashion forward for me. 😉

  4. Well, I’m either oblivious to fashion trends or forward-thinking in my clothing picks but I liked both looks equally. A woman can’t go wrong with a blazer and straight skirt in my opinion! I’m learning so much from this linky at FL&P, thanks for enlightening me! 🙂

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

