Five Favorites: Meals To Bring To A Friend

I help coordinate meals for new moms in my parish, and I love this ministry.  It’s a concrete way to carry out the corporal work of mercy “Feed the Hungry.”  Maybe the people you bring a meal to aren’t going to starve without your meal, but you are literally feeding the hungry.  And I know what a blessing it was to be fed by the friends and friendly acquaintances who brought meals after I had my babies.

Link-up at From Little Hands

So I’m linking up today with Maia and with Hallie and listing some favorite meals to share:

1. Man-pleasing chicken: Don’t be put off by the name.  It’s woman-pleasing too!  I use a bag of individually frozen chicken thighs (defrosted).  Easy to make and so, so good.  gluten-free and dairy-free.

Man-pleasing chicken

2. Bare minimum mode chicken a la Jen: I chop up potatoes and onions and add some baby carrots, drizzle olive oil and shake on salt, pepper, garlic powder, oregano, basil and marjoram.  Then I put frozen chicken breasts on top, drizzle and shake some more, then bake at 425 degrees (F) for about 45 minutes.  It’s a great one-dish meal and it smells awesome.  GF, DF.

3. Creamy parmesan chicken.  You can make it using either mayonnaise or yogurt.  This was a hit each time I made it.

Parmesan crusted chicken

 I’d love to bring homemade desserts and sides, but usually I just make rice and bring a bagged salad kit and ice cream for dessert.  I still remember when my youngest biological sibling was born, and my family received lots of meals.  It was heavenly for us kids . . . ice cream every night!

Actually . . . these three meals are it.  I stick with them most of the time.  I’ve made some doozies in the past though . . . .  One time I made shrimp alfredo and decided to cook the pasta and mix the sauce into it before the 30 min drive to the person’s house.  I shudder to think of the gloppy mess it must have become. . . . And I used to find myself trying out a recipe for the first time the afternoon that I’d promised to bring a meal to someone.  No more!

So to finish out my list,  other favorites for meal deliveries are:

4. Disposable dishes: I try to bring the food in aluminum pans or other disposable dishes so that the recipients don’t have to wash and keep track of and return a bunch of dishes.

5. Pizza delivery: If you don’t have time to make a meal for someone, consider ordering them a pizza.  It feels like a cop-out not to cook, but I think it’s usually a treat to have a fresh, paid-for pizza delivered to your door.  This isn’t always affordable, although a lot a pizza places have mid-week specials.  Also, a rotisserie chicken is a good choice when you’re running low on time.

6. (Bonus!) TakeThemAMeal: Great online meal scheduling calendar.  Very easy to use and prevents people  getting the same dish over and over.

What about you?  What’s your go-to meal to bring to people?  And what was your favorite meal to receive?

29 thoughts on “Five Favorites: Meals To Bring To A Friend

  1. You gotta know that seeing this totally made my day! And my day just barely started. These look like such take-able meals – I can’t wait to try them out! (And to practice them on my family, too!$

      • The baby woke up to eat, and I decided to start my day ahead of the kids. If I had rolled over to go back to sleep, it would have been a “pry mom’s eyes open and terrorize her” sort of day. You know. My usual.

  2. Ooo..great suggestions.

    Some of my favorite meals to bring to people are.

    1) lasagna/baked ziti. I make it GF for those who need it and regular for everyone else.

    2) beef stuffed potatoes. I just throw some large baking potatoes in the oven. Brown ground beef and season it. When the potatoes are down, I scoop out the insides mash them with a bit of butter and salt. Then I mix in the beef and some cheese or sour cream. Restuff the potatoes and bake again. You can skip the cheese for people who are dairy free.

    3). Taco kit. I bring over the cooked beef along with everything else you need (taco shells, shredded cheese, sour cream, salsa, lettuce, tomatoes,).

    4) baked chicken…very similar to you do and with roasted potatoes.

    I usually try to add in a salad or other vegetable with all meals. Sometimes i manage to bring dessert and sometimes not.

  3. Oh, I think I need to try that first recipe! I’ve been making freezer crockpot meals lately and they come in really handy for us AND when I need to take a meal to a friend (like tomorrow, my friend’s husband is having surgery). Just toss it in the crockpot!

  4. Great list! To which I would add: Ohama Steaks. I’ve been sending meals from there for several years for now for friends with new babies, recovering from cancer, post-surgery, etc. I don’t drive much, and getting out with four kids is just a nightmare, and often friends in need are far away, so I feel I can help in this way without being close by. Plus it arrives frozen and the recipient can use it when desired.

    • Okay, I LOVE the Omaha Steaks idea. I didn’t know it was so easy to send pre-cooked meals! How many people does a meal feed? I’m thinking about sending one to a family with two adults and three small children.

  5. I literally just wrote a post like this yesterday(still in my drafts). Except mine was “five favorite dishes to bring to new moms”. So when I publish it, I didn’t steal the idea from you 😉

    The first recipe looks so good! I might need to try that one!

  6. Pingback: Thursday Odds and Ends | from little hands

  7. Definitely want to try that man-pleasing chicken. I’m actually planning on bringing a meal to a good friend who just had a baby this weekend! I’m making a big pan of penne pasta and bringing along some garlic toast and a bagged salad! Thanks for sharing your ideas! I love new recipes!

  8. I made the man-pleasing chicken tonight and it was even toddler-pleasing. You rock, Laura. Also, I didn’t pay enough attention to the directions and so used bone-in, skin-on thighs, and it turned out just fine, so that’s a plus, too!

  9. Pingback: 5 Favorite Meals to Bring a New Momma - Efficient Momma

  10. Pingback: Satan hates community. | This Felicitous Life

  11. Pingback: Top Posts of 2014 | This Felicitous Life

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

