When Real Life Doesn’t Look Like Pinterest

We installed a ballet bar and mirror in Girl 1’s room last weekend.

We did it on a whim.  I saw the idea on Pinterest, and the very next day I found the perfect mirror at a thrift store.

My daughter was thrilled.  I was not so.  The paint on the bar was uneven. The mirror frame could have used a touch up.  We used blocks of wood to hold the mirror in place, and we didn’t bother sanding and painting them.  We’re more get-‘er-done types, not so much get-‘er-perfect types.

I was bummed.

Why can’t I get things to look nice?

And then my brother visited and took a few snapshots.

Maybe I need to focus less on how I think things look.  And more on how I see them.

ballet bar 4

17 thoughts on “When Real Life Doesn’t Look Like Pinterest

  1. This is why little kids are the best. Girl #1 is completely in love with her ballet bar and mirror and doesn’t even see the “imperfections” that are bothering you. Why can’t we be more like that?

  2. As the father of four daughters, I can *see* that this is great. Our youngest would love it; we would have trouble dragging her away from it. But we’ve been “getting ’em done” in our tiny house for a long time. We’ve run out of wall and floor space. Family life helps us understand G. K. Chesterton’s paradoxical twist on an old proverb, in which he says, “If a thing is worth doing, then it’s worth doing badly.” He intends to tease our perfectionists instincts (and I’m not implying that your ballet bar is “done badly”–on the contrary, I think it’s brilliant). So often in practical life, we need to just dive in, do the best we can, and then be grateful for all the good that we have built in our home or environment, while having a large and humble sense of humor for all of the quirky and idiosyncratic aspects of the results. God bless you!

  3. Awww! That is so AWESOME! I wouldn’t have been able to tear myself away from that if I had one of those! I’m sure that’s the best present in the world to her! 🙂

    Also, I think get it done is better than get it perfect because more often than not get it perfect never actually happens.

  4. That sure beats doing ballet in the bathroom with the towel rack as a barre. Can’t tell you how many times I whacked the counter and hard. I love it. She’s enraptured. xo

  5. That little girl is so precious. So intent! I love it!
    Girl I’m right there with you. My sister’s house looks like it was born of Pinterest. My house looks like it…well…someone recently offered “You know, I can tell you what I would do if I had your house…”
    Right. Moving on!

  6. If we lived near you, my Princess would come over to play and never want to leave. Oh how sweet an idea you found, and how happy Girl 1 looks!

    By the way, thanks again for the tip on “Ella Bella Ballerina” books–my girls and my nieces got some for Christmas and LOVE them! We’re now starting to slowly acquire James Mayhew’s art books, the “Katie” series. 🙂

  7. Oh man, Cecilia would die of happiness if we set something like that up for her! If only we had thought of that for her birthday… Well, I don’t see the ballerina obsession fading any time soon!

  8. Pingback: 2014 in (just a few) pictures | This Felicitous Life

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

