7 Quick Takes About Fingernails (Again), Valentine’s Day, Clothes and Shoes

1.  I wrote a quick little review of Kisses for Katie, over at Mary’s blog, Atelier.  If you’ve read the book, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

2.  I followed Mary’s advice for a Valentine’s night in, almost to the letter, and it was really nice.

Image

Valentine’s date night in: raspberry Belgian ale, flourless chocolate cake, and pina colada sherbet!

We watched Romantic’s Anonymous on Netflix, which both (!) Pat and I found entertaining.  I would have changed the ending though. (And does it bug anyone else that so many movies feature a male romantic lead so much older than the female romantic lead?) . . . Actually, never mind.  I just looked it up and the lead actress is only 7 years younger than the lead actor.  But man, she looks a lot younger.  Anyway . . .

It made me want to watch more French films.  It’s one thing to read about the Frenchwoman mystique, and quite another to watch it.  I get it a bit more now.

3. My first attempt to rejoin the world of fingernail painters was a bust.  I used Sally Hansen Hard As Wraps for a base coat (accidentally ordered the top coat instead of base coat), an old bottle of red Sally Hansen Hard as Nails, and the Vinylux top coat recently of Camp Patton fame.  It was chipping before 24 hours was up, and by the end of the second day it looked like this.

Image

I never gave much thought to my cuticles, but they don’t look so hot close up, do they?

But a bottle a OPI Sweet Innocence, per Nichole’s advice, is on its way to me.

4. Amazon sends me an email every day, apologizing profusely for a shipping delay with the aforementioned nail polish.  It’s okay, Amazon, really, it’s okay.  Whole lotta snow out there.  I understand.

Image

5. Pat was really sweet in how he ordered a Valentine’s Day gift for me.  He went to my web browsing history and specifically looked for what I had viewed on Boden’s website.  And he ordered me a dress.  Unfortunately, I already had ordered myself the same dress and returned it, because it didn’t look good on me.  But it was a really thoughtful idea.

6. I know I‘m not the only one excited by the newest Boden catalog.  I’m finding that a lot of their stuff doesn’t look as good on me as it does on the models (surprise surprise).  I’m hopeful to get at least a couple of winners for my summer momiform, though.

7. I finally replaced my old Sperry’s with a pair of pink Minnetonka Kilty mocs, for my requisite pair of casual-flats-with-which-I-can-wear-socks.  They would look better without socks, but I just really really need socks.  But anyway, I found them at our local general store for $7 less than Zappos!  I hesitate to jump on the “buy local” bandwagon.  When I see a “Do You Know Your Farmer” bumper sticker it just seems so smug and self-righteous to me.  And plenty of virtuous people don’t have the time or money to buy local but feel guilty about it.  And I hate that.

But every now and then you find just what you want locally for a good price, and it feels really good.

The end.  Click over to Jen’s for more quick takes.  Happy weekend!

12 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes About Fingernails (Again), Valentine’s Day, Clothes and Shoes

  1. I love my red minnetonkas. The color did bleed a little onto my socks (yep, I need socks too) and feet at first but it was only for the first month or two. Now that I’ve had them for a year they’re broken in just perfectly, they’re so comfy. I just can’t rave about them enough!

    We loved Romantics Anonymous too! My only warning with delving into more French cinema is their movies tend to be much more sexually explicit. So yeah, just be aware 😉

    • Yeah, I tend to think of French films as dark, depressing, and sexually explicit. So this one surprised me by being, well, not dark and depressing anyway. And the sex scene was brief and not super explicit. … And yeah, my white socks all have turned pink now but it’s worth it. 🙂

  2. So I tried the CNX vinylux nail polish with the top coat this week (found out about it via The Small Things blog as a substitute for gel manicures). Anyways, it’s amazing. I didn’t realize you could use the vinylux top coat with normal polish, but maybe it just works better with the CNX vinylux polish? I did 3 coats of the polish (it was kind of sheer and I like it more opaque) and one of the top coat and it looks better than the gel manicure I got at Ulta.

    Also I looove Minnetonkas and really love that those are pink. And it’s too sweet that your hubby ordered you that dress from Boden!

      • Let me know how you like it 🙂 I should have told you that I’m using the ‘CNX weekly polish.’ I’m on day 4 with a couple minor barely noticeable chips (and I’m constantly washing my hands/using sanitizer at the hospital).

  3. I totally get you about the whole “buy local” thing! I try to eat organic when I can and would love to do more, but I just don’t have the money to go all out! I think that those who can afford to go all organic are so passionate about it that they don’t realize that they come across self-righteous…at least I hope that’s what it is! 🙂

  4. One of my close friends always has her nails painted and I just can’t do it, for the same reasons. I think she paints her nails almost every day, though. It’s her quiet time. I’d rather read blogs or a book and I know my nails look better simply clean than chipped! Also, to be noted, she is a girly girl and I am a tomboy, still. {And, I have two boys (5 and 3) and I’m due with a girl in May. I am stressed about it–I just know I’m going to get a girly girl and not know what to do with her!!!}

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

