Straight, Skinny, or Boot? A Pear’s Denim Dilemma

My favorite jeans are half off today, making them about $35.  I think I’ll order another pair.

This is an interpretive dance showing how much I love these jeans.

This is an interpretive dance showing how much I love these jeans.

LOFT’s curvy fit straight leg jeans: they’re super stretch and comfortable, but they don’t stretch completely out of shape until about the end of the second day.  They’re snug enough to fit into boots without (too much) bunching at the knees.

IMG_4482

All the same, I don’t think they’re a great look for me except with boots.  They create what others have called a “triangle” or “piano leg” out of my bottom half.  “Straight leg” jeans are a misnomer if you’ve got a full hip and thigh area.  If jeans really go “straight” from your hip down, then you’ve got a wide or trouser leg jean.

I really dig the look of a trouser leg pair of jeans, or a bootcut that isn’t too tight in the thigh and knee.

Boden wide leg jeans

I haven’t quite found the perfect pair for me (these look promising but I’m waiting until they go on sale).

It rankles the minimalist in me: needing two cuts of jeans, one to wear with boots and one to wear with flats (and possibly another, longer pair to wear with heels). Especially as certain tops may work with one cut of jeans and most definitely not work with another.

But I’m aiming to have two great pairs of each cut and deal with it.

How about you?  What’s your favorite style of jeans?

21 thoughts on “Straight, Skinny, or Boot? A Pear’s Denim Dilemma

  1. I have no idea, but I’m warming to skinny jeans based on Shana’s recommendations. I even bought a pair of the Levi’s jeggings she sang the praises of at Kohls on sale and let me tell you do not put jeggings on when you are in a hurry. It doesn’t matter what size you are, trying to pull those sons of guns over your heels when you are in a rush will make you feel enormous and you will likely curse. I also have a pair of high wasted trouser jeans from NY&Co that I’ve had for like 5 years that are a staple for me. I’m still trying to figure this out myself. If you account for getting them over your heels without losing your mind the Levi’s Jeggings are everything Shana promises. The hold their shape like nobody’s business.

    • PS I realize a lot of people are like are you kidding with this jegging business but I would buy Pajama Jeans in. a. HEARTBEAT if they weren’t 50 bucks and a hair more convincing as real pants. These jeggings are pretty close to wearing leggings as pants in the comfort department. Once you get past your heels (not your shoes, your actual heels of your actual feet).

  2. I’ve become a HUGE fan of the super skinny stretch jeans from American Eagle in the dark, dark blue wash (not the technical name). I didn’t think I would ever find a pair of skinnies that fit well and were flattering, but these are. They also maintain their shape quite well. The only problem I’ve had is that they are a teeny bit loose around my waist and slide down slightly there, but a cute belt fixed that instantly. I’ve been so happy with these jeans. And they’re ridiculously cheap too. Generally on sale for $30.

  3. I struggle with this too! I have a pair of straight leg jeans and I think they look great but then when I see myself wearing them in a picture, I think they make my hips look wider than I’d like. I don’t really have a pair of jeans that I really like… the search continues. 🙂

  4. Ugh. STill trying to figure this out. I hadn’t bought jeans since junior year of college (that’s six years!!!) until this Christmas. I bought a pair of the old navy rock star skinnies. They are stretchy and comfortable but I should have bought the long bc they are more of the cropped jean look and that’s not as versatile. I still have the dumpy butt look though. Not really bc they stretch out but bc I realize I have very little junk in the trunk to fill them. Grrr. I’m happy with them for now but I’d like to find a second pair that’s longer and has a higher waist.

  5. I have a pair of dark wash skinny jeans from Old Navy that I really like but…they look like mom jeans on me from the back. 😦 I think it’s a combo of the cut and (sorry TMI-) saggy backside.
    I love the trouser pair in that picture but have yet to find a good fit. If only I could find someone to scour the shops for me to find that perfect pair of jeans. 🙂

    • Seriously, some sort of gravatar with exactly one’s own measurements, who could try them all on for you. Hmmm. And I was tempted by Old Navy’s jeans over the weekend, but the back pockets didn’t look so great (sometimes, any excuse will do when I don’t feel like trying on jeans).

  6. No pants wisdom to give, I just want to say that I waited ALL DAY to read this (lent started yesterday for Maronites), because I’m trying to cut down on daytime internet reading. And I enjoyed it! Thanks, Laura!

  7. I really like the express straight leg jeans. I can usually tuck them into boots without looking like a total moron and they look super cute with flats.

    I have real long legs though, so I’ve had to give up on the whole “finding the right pair of jeans to wear with heels” dream.

    Le sigh, yo.

  8. Wow–that looks so cool!!! How did you do that?? I need to take some computer technology classes from you, I think. 🙂

  9. Hey all – pajamajeans are something like $29.99 in the SkyMall magazine this month. Never heard of them until I read this post. Skymall.com. Check it out.

  10. I actually own the wide leg jeans by Boden, and I like them. Oddly enough the 8L was too big, even though I normally wear a 10, but when I tried the 6L, it was too tight. So I am going to take the 8 in and hope for the best. 🙂

    My favorite jeans are a pair of it! jeans I purchased in 2004, they are bootcut, with sparkly pockets on the butt, and they fit PERFECTLY. There is a touch of whiskering at the thighs, but nothing too extreme (which was definitely the flavor of the day back then). Here’s a photo: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/363313894911739094/

    Look forward to seeing where this journey takes you!

  11. Jeans are one of my great struggles in life! Okay, wait, that sounded waaaaay more melodramatic than intended. Well, anyway . . . Check out this awesome blog that covers all things jean-related — http://www.graspingforobjectivity.com/2012/02/jeans.html — Since I found it, I feel oh-so-much more up to the task of choosing the right jeans! Her rules are sooooo true! And, oh yeah, according to the expert, you NEED two cuts of jeans if you want to wear boots (one for boots and one without). Same rings true for heels. Anyway, hope that helps a bit!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

