Old Navy Spring 2014 In Review

Plus a bit o’ Lands’ End and Athleta.

Girl 1 and I made a trip to Old Navy not long ago.  Here are some highlights.

The fit and flare jersey dress (first spotted on Ain’t No Mom Jeans):

Old Navy fit and flare dress

I think this will be my go-to summer day dress (the kind I was hoping to find at Boden).  Unfortunately, it is not very forgiving of the cortisol baby I’m carrying around in my midsection.  (The picture doesn’t show it, b/c I’m sucking in my gut with all my might. )  So I went up a size (XL), and found it more flattering in the midsection but too big in the top and armholes.

IMG_5609

So, I bought the XL and plan to have it taken in up top.  It’s counterintuitive to bother getting alterations on a cheap, Old Navy dress.  But I wouldn’t think twice about getting alterations for a pricey special occasion dress I’d only wear once, so why not drop $20 on something I probably will wear dozens of times?  That’s my thinking.

The black and white is cute, also, but washes me out, I think.

IMG_5732

This dress on the other hand:

IMG_5608

Hospital gown chic.  No thanks!

 These cotton sweaters are similar to the polka-dotted one I got from Old Navy over a year ago, which I’ve worn and worn and worn again.  So I have high hopes.  I went with the anchor print.

IMG_5604

IMG_5603

I ordered a tall just for kicks, and wow, it’s tall.  Never mind.

IMG_5762

This sweater was blah and not flattering.  (Surprise!  It’s even blah and unflattering on the model.)

Old Navy v neck cable knit sweater, women's

A silky, drapey top paired with skinny jeans is a good look, generally, I think.  But I just wasn’t feeling it with this top:

Old Navy women's printed crepe top

This top is pretty.  I might have gotten it in white, but the back is very sheer (“slub knit” is always the tip-off, isn’t it?).

Old navy lace front slub knit top

I ordered this skirt online and I love it.  The stretchy panel on top is flattering.  The fabric is very lightweight, so I wouldn’t wear it without a slip or a shaper.  Still, it doesn’t cling the way I was expecting it to.  I might get wild and crazy and order it in a color other than dark blue.  That’s right; I just might!  (I also tried this similar skirt from Lands’ End, and the ON skirt won out.)

Old Navy fold over jersey knit skirt

Girl 1 found a dress she likes.  She’s worn it almost every day, usually along with this cardigan (unbuttoned and tied in front, ’cause that’s the way we roll).  I wouldn’t mind a bit more material up top on the dress.  She’d prefer wearing a strapless ball gown to preschool.  This is an acceptable compromise.

Old Navy girls' floral print maxi sun dress

Real quick, I love this cardigan from Lands’ End.  I had looked for something similar in cut to my old pink cardigan that I’m wearing to shreds.  I ordered the cardigan in a M.  It’s held up in the wash so far, ‘though I’ve laid it flat to dry.

Lands End womens cable knit v neck cardigan

I also am loving my puffer vest.  I’m tempted to buy more colors.  (You’re a minimalist, Laura, remember?  You’re a minimalist.  Come on.)  But, it’s back up to $35 after being on sale for under $20.  So maybe I’m not as tempted.

Lands End core down puffer vest

Aaaaand, I think this will be my skort for the summer (in a Tall).  The ones I wore last summer were just a bit too flowy for my tastes.  I’m hoping to recoup some $$ on eBay.

Okay, I hope you were edified . . .  or something . . . by all that.  Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “Old Navy Spring 2014 In Review

  1. I love when you do these reviews! That stripe dress is awesome, I’m very tempted (but not sure how things will be post-partum so I probably shouldn’t). Also, that anchor print and the lace front tee are so J. Crew! Pretty impressed with Old Navy (I love their maternity section too).

  2. I love that super cute dress! It’s wise to get it altered considering all the use you’ll get out of it. Did you end up getting the green or the white and black stripe? I’m a big sucker for Old Navy. Sometimes I get burned by the quality, but in general I think they make good clothes for sahms who don’t want to look frumpy and unfashionable but who can’t spend oodles of $$ on their clothes. They’ve certainly been my go-to for maternity clothes this pregnancy! As usual, thanks for sharing your shopping/thinking process for all of us, Laura. 🙂

  3. I like that dress. Have you thought about getting the smaller size and wearing it with spanx or somthing? I think the smaller size is really flattering on you. I don’t know, just a thought.

    And, I think the tall anchor sweater looks awesome on you I think it would look great with skinny jeans/boots or even leggins/boots.

    I love both the silky drapey top and the lacey top, but we can’t see the back in the photo. I”m not a fan of sheer backs

  4. My favorite posts are the clothing ones, for sure! It’s much more edifying than reading about the latest hubbub on some blog. LOVE the first striped dress, that is so cute.

    • Aw thanks. Sometimes I feel silly for blogging about such fluffy stuff all the time. But I figure lots of people out there are blogging Big Thoughts. Somehow has to roll up her sleeves and try on stuff at Old Navy. Just taking one for the team. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Top Posts of 2014 | This Felicitous Life

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

