Laura’s Very Exciting Life

Travel, haircut, oral surgery, software testing, etc. . . .  Also, drugs.

Happy Friday folks!

1. If you haven’t already, check out Mary’s guest post yesterday, which has tips and inspiration for decluttering.  It’s motivated me to throw quite a bit of stuff away over the past few days, which is always a picker-upper (pun not quite intended, ha ha ha).

2. My sweet baby nephew was baptised last weekend, and I was privileged to be his godmother.  I made a whirlwind, 36 hour trip down to the Sunshine State for the blessed occasion.

IMG_6226 IMG_6231 IMG_6255

3. The night I was in FL, I slept the best night of sleep I’ve slept in a long long time.  I remember the first five minutes or so of being in bed at my parents’ house, trying to get comfortable.  Next thing I remember, my alarm was going off, seven hours later.  Delicious.

4. Speaking of Florida, I can’t resist sharing some beautiful pictures that my brother, Stephen, took down there recently.  They almost make me want to buy a real camera, almost.  But I doubt I’ll remember to bring it around and use it.  So I stick with my humble little iPhone4 and enjoy the photography of others.

image

image[1]

image[2]

image[3]

image[4]

image[5]

image[6]

5. Speaking of photography, here are some selfies for the ages.  I took them because *drumroll* I’m getting my hair cut Saturday.  Yay!  I’m going to a lady who’s trained in the Ouidad method, which is supposed to do wonders for curly and wavy hair.

My hair is only slightly wavy, so I don’t know for sure if it will work for me.  But I’m sick of having my hair look crappy unless I spend 30 minutes blow drying it and using a round brush.  I just hate doing my hair.  And anyway, my blow drying broke and I’m not going to bother replacing it until the fall.  If ever.

So anyway, here is my hair today, looking like it does pretty much every day.

IMG_6272 IMG_6273

Here it is on a good day.  I slept on it wet and the stars must have been aligned in my favor that night, because I woke up with it looking okaaaaaay.

IMG_6180 IMG_6181

 

Can I get it to look like this every day, just a bit shorter?  We shall see.

6. The haircut experience, if nothing else, will be more enjoyable than the other self-improvement measures I’ve taken lately.  Namely, one gum graft, wherein a periodontist removed tissue from the roof of my mouth and stuffed it into the gums under my lower front teeth, where the gums were receding.  The idea is to keep enough gum tissue down there that my teeth don’t fall out.

It’s the second time I’ve had this procedure done (in a different spot this time).  It’s really something, feeling someone saw into the roof of your mouth.  Fortunately, the local anesthetic was effective (except for the last few sutures–ouch).

I was working at a Big Law Firm in DC when I got a gum graft the first time.  It was a Friday, and I remember feeling like it was the happiest day of my life because I took half the day off of work and had the whole weekend free.  I was getting skin carved out of my mouth and then sewn back in, but who cared?  I took half the day off of work.  I felt so free, like a kid playing hooky from school.

Truth be told, I felt kinda sorta the same way this time around.  Ana knows what I’m talking about.  Also, this time, I got hydrocodone afterward.

7. Pat was published on his company’s blog recently.  His post is about effective software testing techniques, which is a subject near and dear to his heart.

Aaaaaand, that’s all folks.  Have a great weekend!

For more quick takes, click on over to Conversion Diary.

10 thoughts on “Laura’s Very Exciting Life

  1. I’m excited for your haircut! I hope it’s everything it’s cracked up to be. Maybe take one of those hydrocodone pills before hand and just reeeelaaaxxx while you’re there. 😉 I live for my thrice yearly hair appointments; I can’t wait to be an old lady and go to the hair dressers every other week to have my curls set. Lofty life goals over here.

  2. Wow, those are fantastic pictures your brother took! And I remember hearing about that hair method on a 5 favs a while back- very intriguing. Can’t wait to see the results!
    Also, I was JUST thinking about my receding gums the other day and mildly terrified there was no solution and that my teeth would be falling out by age 40. I never knew there was such a procedure as gum grafting!

  3. Ha, ha! This just made me laugh out loud when I got to the part about being glad about taking a “half day off of work.” We are kindred spirits! P.S. I have a card to send to you and Pat, but just haven’t put it in the mail yet.

  4. I’ve been doing Ouidad since January, and I just converted my BFF from college. She was totally skeptical but two days in, she was a convert! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  5. Pingback: 2014 in (just a few) pictures | This Felicitous Life

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

