On Art, Law Firms, and Choosing What You Love

I love Impressionism.  I visited the Met once and was fascinated Monet’s paintings, the way they look like swirls and gobs of paint up close but then coalesce into flowers, bridges, and people as you step back.

At the law firm I worked at in DC, all the new associates got an office decorating allowance.  Most used it to get their law school diplomas framed, but my parents already had done this for me.  Instead I bought a large, framed poster of Monet’s  Le Pont Japonais a Giverny.  From Posters.com.  Sophisticated I was not.

Monet, Le Pont Japonais a Giverny, via

A partner came into my little office and took a long look at the poster.

“You like Monet?” I asked.

“He’s okay,” he replied with a shrug.

Possibly my co-workers considered choice in wall art declassé.

In her book, Redeemed, Heather King describes a law office she worked at in Los Angeles, noting the framed Impressionist prints on the wall.  Her point was that it was an uninspired, backward, soul-stifling place to work,  not the hip, happening environment she was expecting in LA.

Claude Monet – The Walk – Woman with a Parasol, via

Claude Monet, The Seine at Giverny, via

The law office where I worked, my floor anyway, had mainly modern art.  I recall a mustard-hued, abstract painting of intersecting circles hanging outside the conference room.  Somehow, it didn’t inspire me.

Jean-Honore Fragonard, The Swing (not an Impressionist but similar, I think)

I am running out of wall space in our house.  Possibly my decor personality is Granny-chic.  Possibly that’s because I buy most of my wall art at the thrift store and at rummage sales.  Unfortunately, they often come in glaring brass frames.

Eugène Boudin, Washerwomen on the Beach of Etretat, via

But I don’t care, because Impressionism makes me happy.

****

Linking up with Heather, because that makes me happy too, and because these are five of my favorites of the prints that hang on my walls.

9 thoughts on “On Art, Law Firms, and Choosing What You Love

  1. I’m no art buff, but I do know that I do not understand modern/ abstract art at all and I do appreciate Monet. 🙂 I also really like that last one- I’ve never seen it before!

  2. Hi Laura!:) Your 5 Faves made ME happy!

    I don’t know anything about Impressionism, but these paintings are beautiful – especially 1 and 4. Any chance you could/would ever paint the frames? I bet that would be pretty cool.

    Thanks so much for linking up!:)

      • Rub’n buff. It’s awesome stuff. I’ve got a thrift store frame awaiting its magic touch. It has worked better than painting them for me for the type of look I was going for. That stuff goes a long way. It makes me want to paint ALL THE THINGS. In other news, it must never fall into a toddlers hands or else everything might get a metalic glow to it (in my case silver leaf).

  3. Aw c’mon, Laura! Have mercy on your poor ol’ one-footed-aunt and post something. I’m so bored and I keep coming here for an update and – nothing. You must have something in the works! 😉

  4. I know this is an old post, but couldn’t help but comment. This is really great – for one thing, I enjoyed the impressionist works in the post because I’m also a Monet fan (and Debussey too, which is basically the musical version of impressionism). It may not be “cool,” but I don’t care. It’s so important to like what you like, and be OK with it.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

