What I’m Into (July Edition)

Mexican food, Spanish princesses, an Argentinian cardinal, grammar snobbery and more.

1. This comic:

“Research Ethics” from xkcd

Facebook’s psychological experiment on its unknowing users is old news now, I suppose.  I still think I’ll get back on Facebook one of these days, but that whole brouhaha made me put it off just a leetle longer.

2. Elizabeth Esther’s book, Girl At the End of the World, and her blog.  Wow.  I usually don’t enjoy reading a lot of air-out-your-feelings and theological musings blog posts, but something about Elizabeth’s story and her writing has me hooked.

3. Apropos to one of Elizabeth Esther’s recent posts,  this quote from a talk Pope Francis gave in 2001 (before he was pope):

Christian morality is not a titanic effort of the will, the effort of someone who decides to be consistent and succeeds, a solitary challenge in the face of the world. No. Christian morality is simply a response. It is the heartfelt response to a surprising, unforeseeable, “unjust” mercy (I shall return to this adjective). The surprising, unforeseeable, “unjust” mercy, using purely human criteria, of one who knows me, knows my betrayals and loves me just the same . . . . This is why the Christian conception of morality is a revolution; it is not a never falling down but an always getting up again.

4. Mexican (“Mexican”) food.  A local restaurant makes a rockin’ Sopa Azteca, and it had me daydreaming about more for days.  This is pretty close, if you crush some tortilla chips into it at the end:

Other recipes I’ve enjoyed are for this Mexican chicken:

 

And these loaded nachos:

 

5. Grilled eggplant “burgers” brushed with a balsamic vinaigrette, topped with tomato, basil, and melted fresh mozzarella cheese.  To die for.  Equally good if you broil rather than grill the eggplant slices.  Amazingly easy.  All those eggplants I’m getting in our CSA baskets no longer pose a problem.

Photo from Simply Recipes

6. Spain’s two real, live little girl princesses.  How cute are they?!  (Another blogger brought them to my attention.  Wish I could remember who.)  Girl 1 and I spent a while browsing their pictures on Pinterest.  Girl 1 was gratified that the princesses have straight hair, like her.

The princesses’ mother, Queen Letizia, is my new girl crush. Check out this outfit:

Is it just me or is that skirt basically the same as my go-to skort?  It’s like we’re twinsies!  We have the same mom uniform!  ❤ ❤ ❤  I’ll be she reads my blog!

7. I enjoyed Amelia’s post, “Why I’m NOT Trying to Lose Weight Even Though I’m Overweight.

8. Bonus quick take:  Has any grammar snob out there not heard Weird Al’s Word Crimes yet?  If not, here you go.  You’re welcome.

I can’t help it.  I love Weird Al.

 

Linking up with Leigh for What I’m Into and with Jen for 7 Quick Takes.  Have a good weekend everyone!

 

19 thoughts on “What I’m Into (July Edition)

  1. Great post, Laura!
    I like that khaki skirt and white top combo. It’s perfect for summer! And the Mexican food pictures look delicious, especially the soup. I want to try that sometime.

  2. It’s not fair that you write posts like this that leave me scrambling to 1) add new blogs to my feed 2) emailing myself recipes 3) watch videos 4) drool over a royal family. Stop making stuff so interesting. GEEZE.

  3. Actually, when I tried to click on it, I didn’t see the recipe. I’m tech-dumb, though, and it’s past midnight, so I’m probably just not looking in the right place. Will try again in morning. 🙂

  4. Why, oh why has it been so long since I stopped by?! Funny and smart, as usual. Amazing quote from Pope Francis. E.E.’s book is lingering in my amazon cart — not for long! The princess outfit (pinned it!) Made nachos this week, can’t wait to try that chicken recipe, and solving word crimes is my job, so there you go!

  5. …and it’s about time somebody called Alanis Morissette out on that whole “rain on your wedding day” thing. That is NOT ironic, it is just weather. Ha!

  6. Here from 7QT – thanks for the reminder about that blog!! I stumbled across it awhile ago and meant to follow, but forgot. She’s incredible!!

  7. Pingback: What My Kids Think About Me | This Felicitous Life

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

