7QT about lazy sangria, blogging profits, and a UD joke

1. Here’s a visual of my Thursday evening from about 6:30 onward, when Pat mercifully took over childcare and kitchen duties:

Book, Chocolate, booze

Book, stevia-sweetened dark chocolate, booze

2. It’s been a long week.  Both girls sick.  Up 1/3 of last night w/ insomnia.  Up the other 1/3 with Girl 1, who had an earache.  Blah blah blah.  My life is hard, etc.

3. Due to various reasons (see above), I resorted to Tired Woman’s Sangria this evening.  I just made it up.  It consists of the following:

  • Large drinking glass of disappointing white wine (should have stuck with Ecco Domani)
  • A few spoonfuls of diced fruit (in my case, watermelon and Granny Smith apple)
  • 2-3T Simple syrup (equal parts sugar and water, cooked together until the sugar is dissolved; I keep some on hand, made in advance)
  • Ice

Soak the wine, fruit, and syrup together and chill in the fridge for as long as you can stand to wait.  Add ice and gulp.

4. Breaking news: forget Kindle Unlimited, Oyster, etc. and just get . . . a library card.  Public libraries have a better selection of electronic books, and they’re free!  It’s in the newspaper so it must be true.  Also, I tried out Kindle Unlimited for the free trial period and was underwhelmed.

5. On a more serious note, I thought this was a good, short article about how Americans (not all of us but some of us) have caused the current influx of undocumented minors emigrating  from Central America to the U.S.

6. And back to less serious notes: I made money from this blog for the first time yesterday!!  I signed up for Amazon’s Affiliate program and made a full ten cents!  That’s right, someone clicked through from my blog and spent $2.50!  Try not to be too jealous.  I want to frame it as the first dime I made, like some businesses frame the first dollar they make.  Trouble is, Amazon won’t cut a check until I make $10.  At my current rate of 4% per click-through purchase, it’ll take . . .

0.04x = $10

x = 10/.04

x = $250

. . . $247.50 more in purchases from readers.  Keep it up folks!  😉  . . . Actually, after a few more purchases my rate goes up to a whopping 6% or something like that.  Nevertheless, I’m keeping my day job.

7.  So, inside joke for any University of Dallas people (which also applies to many small Catholic colleges): my little brother just set off for a jaunt to Ireland before his study abroad semester in Rome.   He posted some pictures of his group.

I couldn’t help but notice that, while the guys in his group are fair to middling in the looks department, the girls are  H-A-W-T, hot, hot.

“Steve-O, dude, how did you manage this?” I asked.   His reply:

“That’s the magic of the UD ratio.”

He’s a smart one, that kid.

Happy weekend folks!  Click over to Conversion Diary for more quick takes.

15 thoughts on “7QT about lazy sangria, blogging profits, and a UD joke

  1. YES!! I love downloading my books from my library onto my Nook! I haven’t spent a dime in years and I devour these books, one click at a time.

    Hahaha to your last quick take. I have noticed this is pretty much a trend among young adults in the pews, as well. Men of the world: the women you want are in church!! And they’re cute!

    This is my first time on your blog 🙂 I like that you have a focus on eating, as well! Treat your body like a temple! Have a great weekend!

    • Hi Elizabeth. Thanks for stopping by! You know, Jimmy Buffet has this song called Fruitcake. It has a line that goes: “I treat my body like a temple. You treat yours like a tent.” In full disclosure, I’ve been treating mine more like a tent lately. We’ve fallen off the healthy eating wagon. But I intend to get back on before too long!

  2. The UD ratio is definitely in the guys’ favor, but there’s also the St. Greg’s phenomenon. My husband and all his old high school buddies agree, St. Greg’s boys do freakishly well in securing girls way out of their league in the looks department. They should find a way to incorporate that tidbit into all the fundraising materials they’re sending out.

    • Seriously, they really should play up their strengths in their fundraising! 🙂 What you said was the case w/ my brother John, who went to SGA. The brother at UD, Stephen, though, didn’t even go there. Somehow he’s still doing okay. 🙂

  3. Lol. I recently made 25 cents from Google Adsense and I was giddy with excitement!
    Oh and Modern Mrs Darcy had a great easy Sangria recipe this week too: I haven’t tried it yet but now I have two on my to-try list, thanks!

  4. Our library system has a really disappointing selection of kindle books, which I don’t understand because our county is HUGE! But luckily I still manage to find enough to fill the copious (ha) amounts of reading time I have 😉

    And I’ll definitely click through here next time I’m making an Amazon purchase! I try to spread the love through different blogger links, and we order a loooot from there because that way we don’t have to leave the house!

  5. Love your sangria idea. I have had a few days which also warranted a fast sangria. I did disappointing white wine, Limoncello, frozen berries, and cherry water flavoring. Sometimes with other juice or club soda, whatever was in the fridge. 😉

  6. Always on the hunt for a great easy Sangria recipe! 🙂 And thanks for the reminder about the Library! I am finally inspired to try it out. Thanks!

  7. I LOVE the library! Love it. However most of the time get super ambitious and check out 38309280329 books at a time, and then have to return them before I finish. I have 4 checked out right now!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

