7QT about my “normcore” husband, freecycle, and movies

  1. I received this GAP advertisement in the mail recently.

Okay, now I can’t find it.  But it had a model wearing almost exactly the same outfit Pat wore for an old post of mine.

Normcore

 

Apparently this look is called “Normcore.”  We are cutting edge.

 

2. I like Elizabeth Esther’s post (old), “Motherhood is not my highest calling.”

When we artificially inflate the importance of motherhood, then average, everyday, good-enough mothers are always found lacking. I simply can’t live up to the expectations. No matter how hard I try, I always feel like I SHOULD be doing more and doing it better. . . . I’m not saying that being a super-involved mother and being happy are mutually exclusive, but I do think I can do a better job at doing LESS and enjoying my life MORE.

Kind of along the same lines as my post earlier this week at The Mirror and the ensuing discussion in the com box.  Gah.  It sounds really prideful of me to say that. . . . You know what I mean, right?  I came across her post after I wrote mine and was like, “Oh yeah, that’s another aspect of what’s been on my mind.”  Anyway . . . .

3. Also on my mind is Simcha’s post . . . darn I can’t find it.  Anyone remember the one about how she used to think sacrifice would involve staying up late to sew Halloween costumes but really the greatest sacrifice as a parent is giving up your ideal of what kind of parent you want to be?  That you have to do what is best for your kid and forget your pride?  I’ve googled and googled and can’t find it for the life of me.

4. Freecycle in our town has postings like this:

OFFER: Free horse manure, you scoop

WANTED: Newish, reliable car.  Please deliver.

But we lucked out this past weekend and got ourselves a big sectional for the downstairs t.v. room, in really decent shape.  Pat and his brothers worked really hard loading and unloading that thing, then bringing it down the basement steps.  And just now Pat vacuumed the whole thing out before moving it into place.

IMG_6757

 

 

It’s a nice improvement over what we had down there before.

IMG_6758

 

 

5. Recently I watched The Graduate.  I always thought it was some super-immoral file–given the subject matter I guess–but somewhere along the line I realized it probably wasn’t.  So I watched it.  It’s not exactly moral but it’s not dirty, and it’s funny as heck.  It gives me a better sense of the baby boomer zeitgeist.

 

6.  Shortly thereafter I picked up One Day at random from the library.  Couldn’t get past the first half hour.  I didn’t see how it could end well, seeing that Anne Hathaway’s character is kissing what’s-his-face’s character on the front cover.  What a dog.  Couldn’t stand him.

 

7.  So it’s interesting that the movie I feared would be super-scandalous was not so (though perhaps it was when it first came out?).  On the other hand, the movie that seemed like a cute, light-hearted chick flick was demoralizing and made me feel like there is no hope for the human race.  (Come to think of it, most chick flicks leave me demoralized and feeling like there is no hope for the human race.)

If you’ve seen either, what did you think?

After you’ve told me, click over to Conversion Diary for more quick takes.  Happy weekend!

8.  Bonus take!  (I forgot)  Check out this nifty, two-second shirt-folding technique.  I wonder if there’s anything similar for long-sleeved shirts?

 

9.  Also, my blog now has a Facebook page.  So . . .

 

 

11 thoughts on “7QT about my “normcore” husband, freecycle, and movies

  1. I read One Day for a book club a few years ago and found it tedious, although the literary device is an interesting one (check in with two people on the same day every year over a long period of time). I’ve been going back and forth about watching the film.

  2. True ‘normcore’ stylers would be stunned to know that their look has even merited a name. I love that article! The author seems so thoughtful about the fact that some people don’t really care that much about their ‘look’.

    And by the way, that sectional sofa looks fantastic!

  3. Hahaha oh, normcore. I had to explain it to my husband recently. The whole “I’m 22 and model-thin so I’ll look chic in baggy clothes” thing makes me roll my eyes.

    The Graduate surprised me too. It had a lot more redemption and deep thoughts than I expected. The scene that got me is when he wants to discuss art with Mrs. Robinson, and she says she doesn’t know anything about it. Later we learn that when she got pregnant and then married she dropped out of college – where she had been studying art.

    • Yeah, I took that scene to mean she had given up on life, given up on any interest she previously had. Perhaps that’s to show the supposed stifling grip of 1950s morality–she “had” to give up on herself and become “just” a housewife when she got pregnant. Maybe. In any case, she was certainly a sad person.

  4. Awesome freecycle find! I loved the concept of freecycle, but I have to admit staying on top of the emails was a daunting task. Of course, that was when we lived two seconds outside of DC . . . That shirt folding technique is awesome, we saw it a week or two ago. P mastered it in a minute, unfortunately, I wash and fold (most of the time) and I did not master it at all.

    • Our freecycle is on yahoo groups, and it gives you the option of receiving a daily “digest,” with all of the day’s emails in it, rather than receiving each email individually. It keeps things manageable, although sometimes you miss out on the good things b/c someone snapped it up before the digest went out. . . . and the tee-shirt thing: I tried it today and it does work, but you first have to lay the shirt out neatly on a flat surface. That adds a lot of time.

  5. I dunno, it seems to me that because something is important, doesn’t mean it necessitates taking up all of your time and attention. If one is called to be a mother, then it is their highest calling for the time where they are actively parenting, especially if the kids are little. If a woman is able to other things, like hold a career or volunteer lots, or what have you, and still provide what her children need in order to be well cared for, then that’s fantastic! But if that other stuff gets in the way of caring well for children, then it should probably be lessened, if not dropped all together, because now, in this time of life, mothering children is the most important thing. Though in my opinion, trying to be the Perfect Pinterest Mom isn’t in the best interest of children, either, nor is pushing them all the time to be X, Y, or Z to meet our grown up standards/goals for them.

    Anyway, that’s what I keep telling myself on those days where I don’t think I can handle it anymore: This will not last forever, someday I’ll be able to be my wonderful old selfish self again, but for now, I need to just be “Mama! Mama! MAMA!!!”

    • Hi there! You have a blog too! I had no idea. … Anyhoo, I didn’t think EE’s post was about balancing motherhood with other activities so much as knowing that you don’t have to be a perfect mom. And yeah, I totally agree that when you’re i. The thick of it and they’re little, it is definitely all-consuming. Just attending to their needs and loving them.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

