What I’m Reading, Twitterature Style

Oh the pain–the pain!!–of being a grammar snob and then realizing you titled a past post, “Book reports in 140 characters or less.”  Fewer, Laura, fewer.  “140 characters or fewer.”  **So embarrassed**

Soldiering on, here are a few more very brief thoughts–with letter grades–on books I’ve read in the past few months.

Fiction:

  • Peace Like a River by Leif Enger
    • Outlaws, a mystic, wild West, workings of Grace, power of a (The?) Father’s Love.  Not my usual type but WOW.  Starts slow finishes strong.   A+
  • The Story of a Soul, Therese of Lisieux
    • Is St. Therese INFP?  I have trouble relating.  Still glad I reread it after many yrs.  Better not grade a Dr of the Church?
  • Cherries and Cherry Pits, by Vera Williams
    • Luscious illustrations and a sweet story.  I remember this from my childhood and now enjoy reading it with my kids.  A
  • The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway
    • O Ernest how I admire your prose.  O Ernest how this story bores me.  2 dull, didn’t finish.

Linking up with Anne at Modern Mrs. Darcy for Twitterature  (on Monday) and (next week) with Jessica at Housewifespice for What We’re Reading Wednesday.  Happy reading!

 

14 thoughts on “What I’m Reading, Twitterature Style

  1. I got What Alice Forgot after your last recommendation from the library and read it in a day and half–my poor neglected children–I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it and by how much it made me cry 🙂

  2. You always make me laugh, but this part was my favorite: “Kind of like Portrait of a Lady, except stuff happens and the book has a point.” Can’t wait to add some of these others to my reading list!

  3. I also adore your comment on Wharton. That’s precisely how I feel about Edith Wharton: the interesting, readable alternative to Henry James. 🙂 The Age of Innocence is one of my favorite novels.

  4. If it makes you feel any better, at least one of your readers has pretty pathetic grammar. 😉 Love that meme, and I need to add some of these to my book list!

  5. Haha–I love your review of Portrait of a Lady. Also of Hemingway, who ranks in my book as the most overrated “classic author” ever. Guy can’t write, and is beloved only by other men who also can’t write (most women don’t enjoy Hemingway, which is only natural, since his books generally paint women as caricatures), and who have no creativity or imagination. Hemingway is also loved by men who are not readers (no person who is well-read or a reader/deep thinker/idea person in general would think that Hemingway has any talent). Anyway, enough about my disdain for Hemingway. Have you heard of this>? https://www.stitchfix.com/ Sounds pretty cool–I might try it. I’ve been searching the internet today to see if I can find any reviews . . . .

  6. Don’t read A Farewell to Arms, by the way. I thought it was particularly stupid, boring, melodramatic, and sucked in general. Someone told me once that it was the “only book that had ever made them cry,” and that’s when I knew that I was truly speaking with a moron. LOL. Can you tell that I hate Hemingway? LOL. Sorry for the rant. I’ll explain in person sometime another reason why I hate this dumb “writer” so much . . . .

  7. Just found this review on the Barnes & Noble page for the book (A Farewell to Arms):
    LOL! So I’m not alone:

    “worst book I’ve ever read in my life”

    “I’ve read a lot of books in my day, and this was the worst one ever. I had absolutely no sympathy for any of the characters; I didn’t care whether they lived or died, I just wanted it to end. I would give this zero stars if possible. So boring.”

  8. Great reviews here: I love The House of Mirth and Peace Like a River. I keep hearing about Liane Moriarty but have never read anything by her; I’ll have to change that soon.

    • I love it so much. I think I’ll suggest it to my book club. . . . I picked up Enger’s second novel, So Brave Young and Handsome, and couldn’t get into it. I think I just needed a break from his voice. I’ll pick it up again next year.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

