What I’m Into–September

1.  Arts and crafts: I’m not into them at all.  At all.  But Girl 1 is.  So now I am too, and Girl 2 as well.  Our fireplace is covered with paper napkin snowflakes.  Today they’ve moved on to Halloween decorations.

IMG_6837

2. Thin Within:  Weight Watchers is out, Thin Within is in.  I can eat whatever I want, and I never have to be hungry, and I’m still (slowly) losing weight.  The catch?  I can only eat when I’m hungry and I stop when I’m just barely full.  So hard, but exactly what I needed to work on.  Kind of like Geneen Roth but from a Christian perspective.

3. I haven’t been reading much else lately, recovering from my book binges of the last few months.  Our book club is reading  Incidents In the Life of A Slave Girl, by Harriet Jacobs, so I’ll start that soon.  I know it’s super sad, so it’s taking me a while to get the nerve to dive in

4. Movies: I’ve watched a lot of movies, the main criteria being finding it for free on Amazon Prime or at the library.

Footloose: Continuing my 80s kick.  I’m finishing it as I type this.  Looking forward to a big dance finale at the end.  I should spend more of my life dancing.

10 Things I Hate About You: Funny watch this movie about high school seniors, which came out when I was a high school senior.  Now I get what the fuss about Heath Ledger was about.  That and why all the kids kept singing, “You’re Just Too Good To Be True” over and over again on the bus to World Youth Day 2002.

The Prince and Me: Slight Julia Stiles kick here.  (Round-faced girls of the world, unite!)  This was cute enough but I got bored and fast-forwarded to the end.

Hope Springs: Another movie starring Meryl Streep as the long-suffering wife of a jerk.  Only in this one the guy comes around.

High Fidelity: Waste of time, tho Jack Black is pretty funny.

High Spirits: Watched this on fast-forward the whole way through.  (Don’t ask.)  Thus, a slightly lesser waste of time.

Rounders: About poker.  Entertaining enough.

Moonstruck: Sweet, despite Nicholas Cage.  Why don’t they make rom coms like this anymore?

Big Wedding: Just awful

Next up: Moms Night Out, on Jennifer Scott’s recommendation.

5. Pandora: This was a big thing ten years ago?  More?  But it’s still the only way I listen to music.  I’ve put together what (I must admit) is an easy listening station.  Most of the songs are from before I as born.  But they put Adele on there so that’s something right?

Be careful if you “like” Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen because they will play every single damn one of the 234354353 covers every musician and his uncle has made of it.

I never get tired of hearing this song:

6. Consignment Sales: For the first time, I sold some stuff at one of those biannual kids’ consignment sales.  Between it and a pre-sale that a friend hosted, I net about $40.  I spent $47.  So . . . worth it?  I dunno.  It’s a lot of work for the return it brought.

It’s nice to have all that stuff out of my house, and have something to show for it (namely . . . more stuff, but newer stuff that I wanted . . . I think).  The things I sold would go for little to nothing on eBay and probably wouldn’t do well at the local consignment store, either.

I read a blog post by a woman who supposedly makes thousands of dollars selling at these things, and I have a lot of trouble believing it.

Still, there’s something satisfying about it.  I just like buying and selling stuff.

7. The search for a signature scent, or at least something new: the hunt continues.

8. I’m still obsessed with Myers Briggs.  I compulsively try to guess the MBTI type of everyone I know.  Pretty sure Girl 1 is ENFP.  I was reading the description of that type last night and though, “Aha!  That explains a lot.”  Maybe it’s dangerous to categorize a kid so early.  But it’s healthy, I think, to think about how certain traits might be part of her personality that need to be worked around, not rooted out.

. . . Linking up with Leigh Kramer.  Thanks Leigh!  (Also, possibly with Jen for Seven Quick Takes at a later date.)

12 thoughts on “What I’m Into–September

  1. ENFP is my type too!! Although I am only slightly more extroverted than introverted–I could almost be an INFP and some of those decscriptions fit better. I’m guessing Girl 1 is more on the extroverted side than I am. 🙂

    I am reading a book that I bet you would find interesting, called Mindless Eating (I feel like the name makes it sound like it’s going to shame you into eating less, but i promise that’s not true! They do a lot of cool experiments to see when people eat more, when they enjoy their food more, and why). It has really changed the way I look at food and how much I eat (similar to your book, it emphasizes eating “only until you are not hungry”). It’s interesting.

    I love your movie recommendations, especially because we have Prime too!! Keep it up!

  2. Yes! Thank you for the Prime movie recommendations! We need some free entertainment around here! Are you planning to watch Gilmore Girls (I know it’s Netflix, not Amazon)? 🙂

    • Aw man, now I wish I had specified which of these are on Prime. Some of them I got from the library, and one or two I paid for. . . . We’re planning to get Netflix soon, once our Prime subscription is up. Maybe I’ll try Gilmore Girls then. So many people really like it. . . . The few minutes I watched of it didn’t impress me. Aren’t the characters all ironic and jaded all the time? . . . But I’ll probably give it a try, since I’ve never even seen a full episode.

  3. So many things:

    1) My mother always used to say “Jesus never overate by even a single bite.” I thought of that when you mentioned your new diet.

    2) Nicholas Cage: Ugh – but I also liked Moonstruck

    3) Are you into any other personality type things like temperaments or enneagram? Are temperaments mostly a Catholic thing, because growing up Prostestant I never heard anyone talk about them, but my Catholic buddies here in Houston talk about them a lot.

    • The 4Temperaments has such a big following in the Catholic world, doesn’t it? I don’t know where the connection started. The Bennetts wrote “The Temperament God Gave You” in 2005, but I remember a lot of people in my (v. Catholic) college being into the 4Ts several years before that. . . . I got sick of hearing about the 4Ts for a while because everyone around me was so into it. And it’s not as nuanced as MB, so it frustrated me sometimes. Although it’s still valid in its own way.

  4. You got yours hand on Thin Within! Glad you’re liking it … at least that’s what I’m gathering from this post? It did so many good things to my mind related to food.

    And I have so so many thoughts about the St. Theresa post and baptisms, etc. … makes me wonder if we would be friends if we weren’t sisters. I have a feeling I would REALLY drive you nuts if we didn’t have a blood connection to help out. :-/

    😉

    xo

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

