Olafactory Samplings

Or: More thoughts on perfume,

In which my mood is kind of like this frog’s:

Hoyt's German Cologne perfumed with fragrant & lasting [front]

I found some time to browse Sephora last weekend, looking for THE ONE.

Long story short, I’m like Bono:

But I stiiiiiiiiill haven’t fooooooooouuuuund what I’m looking for.

Argh.  There’s so much more I wanted to write about tonight but it won’t happen because (a) the 2.5 year old is up again (still?) and (b) it’s 11 p.m. and (c) her blanket came slid off one fleece-jammied foot and (d) no, she can’t fix it herself, and (e) even though it’s 72 degrees this is an emergency and (f) one of her four dollies is not arranged just so and (g) I fix blanket and dollies–

“I cwye and I cwye”

Yeah, it works for you, doesn’t it?

and go back to the couch and hearing my behind brush the couch cushion makes her realize that she’s already drunk all the water in her sippy cup and (h) she will scream and scream and scream until I come to refill it.  AND she will probably start over again with (a).

How did I wind up the mother of the Princess and the Pea?  I really really did not set out to be.

“Okay, here’s your water.  You really need to go to sleep.”

“okay.  sowwy cwye.”

Sorry my ass.

So about perfume.

Who cares about perfume?  Anyone?

Okay, I still do.

I set out looking for something spicy.  I like cardamom and rosemary.  And bergamot (which is a flower, but with a spicy smell).  And I ended up preferring the floral scents at Sephora.  Granted, they had a small selection.

But I liked

1. Dolce & Gabbana L’IMPERATRICE: really like the top and bottom notes here but too fruity in its “middle notes” and short-lasting.

2. For a little bit there, L’Imperatrice reminded by of Coty’s Tribe.  It was the first perfume I bought for myself.  Boy was it fruity.  Anyone else remember that one?  Apparently it’s not made any more, but it has a large, nostalgic following.  Just for memory’s sake, it will be my favorite #2.

The early 90s in a bottle!

3. Burberry Brit: Possibly this would be THE ONE but I will forever associate it with a certain person, and not favorably.

4.  Dior’s J’Adore: Again not THE ONE but I liked it.  I forget why.  🙂

5. Jennifer Aniston’s eponymous perfume.  I tried this at Target.  It was the only one of their fragrances that didn’t make me gag on the first sniff.  I was surprised by how much I liked the lily and jasmine notes.  But it “dries down” to a generic, boring musk.

(And forgive me if I’m critical here of your favorite scent.  With any of them, I know I’d smell them on another person and think, “Mmm, you smell great.”  But when I’m looking for THE ONE I’m hyper-critical.)

And when my 2-year-old won’t go to sleep! at 11 friggin’ o’clock at night! I’m hyper-grumpy too.  I hope you’ll forgive my grumbling.  Please be assured that no children were harmed in the writing of this blog post.  Or ever.

All this after reading this book and swearing I would never complain again.

Good night.  Smell good.  Sleep tight.

(Click over to Jenna of Call Her Happy, who is hosting Five Favorites this week.  Thanks Jenna!)

17 thoughts on “Olafactory Samplings

  1. My sister used to wear CK Obsession, I remember it being spicy and not even a little bit fruity (or floral for that matter). Have you come across that one in your hunt?

  2. Wow, ‘Tribe’. Takes me back! I remember a huge trend in middle school/junior high for “Sunflowers”, too.
    In high school I had a thing for Eternity. But I usually don’t really wear perfume..I just try to find a scented lotion I like. (Freesia was my favorite but Bath & Body Works retired it years ago)

    • Yes, Sunflowers! I remember that. And Vanilla Fields, and CK One . . . I wanted to write about several scents that are nostalgic to me. And B&B scents too. I liked Freesia too. Remember Sun-Ripened Raspberry? And when the cucumber-melon combo seemed so exotic? My favorite was sweet pea. . . . But then the 2-year-old intervened before I could write about all that. Another post for another day.

  3. Ok, I laughed and laughed through most of this post. Always love the way you write about all the stuff that gave me my gray hairs!!! This too shall pass, I promise!

      • Actually, you can have it if you want it. I loved the magazine sample but it does not work on my person. And I don’t like to wear much scent around the baby these days anyhow.

  4. Have you tried Diptyque’s collection of Eaux de toilette? I recommend the L’Ombre dans l’Eau scent. All of them are very nice.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

