What I wore Sunday, what I brought in my purse, what I thought in my head

I’ve been meaning to get back to the What I Wore Sunday link-up for a while now.  So here’s what I wore to Mass today:

IMG_7591

The dress is by Aryeh, but I found it at Goodwill.  Nice to have a warm sweaterdress (or tunic) this time of year.

And here’s what I found in my purse mid-Mass: a sandwich baggie full of bacon, ’cause you never know.  The sad thing is I can’t remember when I put it in my purse or exactly why.

IMG_7580

Someone wasn’t happy until she got her own photo shoot:

Nov 23 2014

Also, here are some crafts the girls and I made Saturday.  I can’t believe I made crafts.  I’m so not the type.  But my kids are and, like the song says,

Love, love changes everything/ brings you glory/ brings you shame/

Love makes fools of everyone: all the rules we make are broken.

love will never ever let you be the same.

I was feeling quite poignant with the construction paper, googly eyes and glue.  (I checked out this book at the library and it had some good Thanksgiving ideas.)

IMG_7597 IMG_7598

By the time I started on this guy, Girl 1 was like, “Um, that’s enough turkeys, Mom.”  Girl can’t wait for Christmas.

IMG_7599

In other news, recently I read Simcha Fisher’s A Sinner’s Guide to Natural Family Planning, which I recommend.  I liked her description of finding God’s will for our lives:

. . . Oh blip.  My Kindle’s dead, and I can’t find the quote on the internet.

Anyway, she wrote something about how life isn’t a maze where you get to a box at the end labeled “God’s Will” and you open it up to find either, “Good job” or “You failed.”   Instead, it’s like a parent trying to dress a toddler, where there a few different shirts to choose from and the parent [God] says, “Okay, let’s find a way to make this work.”

It’s kind of out-there, right?  Is this orthodox?  Is this heresy?

So, in Magnificat this morning I read this quote from Pope Benedict XVI:

God does not have a fixed plan that he must carry out; on the contrary, he has many different ways of finding man and even of turning [man’s] wrong ways into right ways. . . . The feast of Christ the King is . . . a feast of those who know that they are in the hands of the one who writes straight on crooked lines.

Pretty nifty huh?

Happy Sunday evening, and best wishes for a good Thanksgiving week!

19 thoughts on “What I wore Sunday, what I brought in my purse, what I thought in my head

  1. I am a huge fan of the sweater dress. You look great! And for the crafts, they seem like a lot of fun. I also run into my boys being done with crafting before I am with things too.

  2. A very encouraging quote, Laura. And it is comforting to know that there is no sin which can completely thwart the will of God, if we repent of it. But I wonder if it is helpful to also remember that God probably has a “Plan A.” For example, I doubt it was God’s “plan A” that Adam and Eve lose their original innocence. (The quote–from Augustine, I believe–that says “Oh happy fault that gained for us such a Saviour,” is not meant to mean that God was excited that sin and death came into the world.) I think he does have a BEST plan for each of our lives, which if we follow it, will result in our being the closest to him and enjoying the most happiness in this life and the next.

    Case in point, I remember my grandmother telling me how she was dating my grandfather and was unsure if she should marry him. (Pat will remember this story; it was a classic!) She had some spurious reasons to hesitate, and she kept praying that God would show her his will and let her know whether she should marry him. In hindsight, she says she kept missing little signs from God that would have confirmed this very clearly for her, had she not been wrapped-up in her own concerns. Finally, she said she remembers hearing a voice very clearly as she looked at my grandfather one day. It was the voice of God; and he sounded slightly exasperated as he said,”This is what I want for you!”

    That story has always given me hope, in the sense that God will not, as you say, keep his will hidden like one of those box letters on Wheel of Fortune. “Ding, ding, you guessed wrong, there is no letter ‘P.'” He’s not waiting to see if we’ll guess right. He tries to show us in every way possible what his “plan A” is. And if we’re praying and asking him, but are just being dopey and not paying attention, he might just come right out and say it–in plain English.

    • Yes, I see what you mean about there being a “Plan A.” At the same time, is there a Plan A for every minute of the day, or just the Big Things? And which are the Big Things? . . . I love the story about your grandmother. 🙂

    • Grandma never told me that story (could have had something to do with growing up in a different state from where she lived…)! That’s awesome though. 🙂

      • And actually I got what (I think was) a sign that I should marry Pat. I’m never quite confident whether it was a sign or a coincidence but things turned out pretty well so I think of it as a sign.

  3. It was definitely not cold enough here today for a sweater. I was a little disappointed. No one warned me that living in Austin would mean wearing summer clothes from March to Halloween!

  4. I love that tunic dress! You look so cute! I’ve missed your WIWS posts..so glad you posted!

    And, I love that quote from the Pope. I worry that we are messing up God’s will ALL THE TIME. It’s comforting to think that we don’t have to be hyper focused on doing the right thing all the tme.

  5. Love your outfit- you look great! And the wreath is so cute. I thought Simcha’s book was so great, and feel so much of what she had to say is much needed today!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

