Mother-daughter themes, homeschooling, and cliches

What I’ve been into in November


 

I read Where’d You Go Bernadette, by Maria Semple, on Christy’s recommendation.  I enjoyed it.  What I really liked

was the way it portrayed the love between Bernadette and her daughter.  Bernadette is slightly crazy, but she does right by her daughter, and that love pulls them through.  That’s kind of my fantasy during the rough patches, the times when I feel like I’m a complete mess and don’t do much of anything but, darnit, I do my best by my little girls.  Hopefully they’ll understand that.

A striking contrast is Sickened: A Munchausen by Proxy Childhood, by Julie Gregory.  Truly horrific.  I don’t know why I read it, except, I suppose, I saw it on the library shelf and was about MBP after watching The Sixth Sense.  What I’m still pondering is whether the author is a reliable narrator.  Clearly there are many generations of abuse in her family, and at a certain point it seems that a victims’ unmet psychological needs become more real to them than reality.  Sobering.

On the advice of Anne at Modern Mrs. Darcy, I watched Pieces of April on the eve of Thanksgiving.  It’s billed as a story about a wayward daughter trying to make peace with her dying mother and rest of her family by hosting them for Thanksgiving.  Upon further reflection, I think the movie is really about how the mother is the terrible one in the family.  And she tries in her own limited way to make amends before she dies.  A good reflection on the power of words and how they can destroy relationships.  But the movie has a lot of funny parts and a happy, not-too-sappy ending.

Rounding out the mother-daughter round-up, I’m watching Gilmore Girls, for the first time ever, on Netflix.  I’m not inclined to like it because I get so annoyed with fast-talking, snarky characters who are always being ironic and having drama (except when they’re incredibly funny, as in Juno).  But I’ve heard so much about GG for so long that I’m giving it a try.

Update: I made it through the pilot and am starting episode two.  Possibly a good show to watch while blogging?

In other news, I’ve started doing home school work with the girls two days a week.   That’s going better than I expected; more on that later.

And laundry.  It’s so cliché to be a mommy blogger (or mom-with-a-blog) and kvetch about laundry.  But my goodness, it piles up.  And lately I’ve decided I don’t care about folding it and putting it away.  I wash; I dry; it piles up.  I’m not even trying to make it a priority any more.  The result was that Pat spent a good chunk of his Thanksgiving time off folding laundry.  Christmas isn’t looking too good for him either.

Happy Advent y’all!  I’m linking up with Leigh for her What I’m Into link-up.

9 thoughts on “Mother-daughter themes, homeschooling, and cliches

  1. I cannot get into GG. Can-not. I find it an unrealistic portrayal of a single parent household and all the characters are not only completely unbelievable, they’re annoying and not that funny. At least Friends was funny – since it was likewise completely unbelievable! (no one works ever, etc.)

    Most stories about family histories I take with a big grain of salt…most of us only see what we can see and we are especially blind when it comes to our families.

    • I think watching it with half a brain is the way to go. I’m not used to having t.v. on in the background while I’m on the computer so it’s kind of novel for us. Also, Pat is chuckling here and there.

  2. If you don’t like it by the end of Season 1, don’t go any further. You’ll only hate it more and more. The premise doesn’t change and by season 4 there is an increasing amount of political and anti-religious snark. And also a ton more promiscuity. Just a warning if you don’t want to waste your time!

  3. I was so surprised I liked Bernadette as much as I did! Especially after hearing how people didn’t like it, which I can only sum up as people not having that Arrested Development sense of humour maybe.
    I love the snarky, fast talking, which is what got me through every episode of Gilmore Girls because the plot lines get so infuriating as the seasons go on. So I understand. It’s a bit silly, but if you like the humour and writing it’s worth it. I guess.

  4. Sickened has been on my To Read list for some time. Always interesting to consider the reliability of narrators, especially when it comes to memoir. I hope you come to love Gilmore Girls as much as the rest of us do!

  5. I love the picture that you used at the top of the post, I have never seen that before. And Amen to the hope that my kids can see past all my flaws and appreciate how much I love them and would do anything for them.
    My favorite way to better keep up with the laundry is to not even bother folding the kids clothes, sheets, and kitchen rags. They just get thrown in baskets or bins, because lets face it I know myself well enough to know that even if I did fold them they would be a mess in 24 hrs or less. In the interest of full disclosure I must admit that this weeks laundry is still unfolded in the laundry room, so I am hardly one to take advice from. I guess that is why I make a point to never include things that need to be ironed in my wardrobe.

  6. Pingback: Quick Lit: Castles, Lost Creatures & a Canary in a Coal Mine | This Felicitous Life

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

