Favorite Books of 2014

IMG_0498

Here are ten of my favorite books read in 2014.  Most are favorites for the “whoa” factor.  Others are favorites for the “whee!” factor.

Looking back at the list, I now see a pattern–what I most enjoyed reading this year was non-fiction books with information that knocked my socks off (1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10) interspersed with novels that were mostly fun and easy to read.

In no particular order:

1. Girls On the Edge: The Four Factors Driving the New Crisis for Girls–Sexual Identity, the Cyberbubble, Obsessions, Environmental Toxins, by Leonard Sax: Sobering but won’t leave you hopeless

2. Peace Like A River by Leif Enger: Beautiful beautiful novel.  Can’t wait to share it with my book club.

3. Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Harriet Jacobs: This blew my mind.

4.  Girl at the End of the World: My Escape from Fundamentalism in Search of Faith with a Future by Elizabeth Esther–I could not put this down.  Since reading the book, I’ve started reading Elizabeth’s blog.  She is a firebrand!  I don’t always agree with her. But she strikes me as a truth-seeker and she always gets me thinking.

5. Following Polly by Karen Bergreen: Chick-lit at its funniest.

6. What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty: Ditto what Elizabeth Foss said.

7. Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life by Emily Freeman–This book was part of a paradigm shift for me in my relationship with God and in life generally, even though the book is not extremely well written.  I keep meaning to read over my highlighted sections again and blog about it.

8.Promises I Can Keep: Why Poor Women Put Motherhood Before Marriage–Eye-opening and readable.  Read Mary’s quick review here.

9. The Hormone Cure by Sara Gottfried–I still haven’t found my miracle cure but this book has great information on how hormones can mess with our well-beings, in ways that won’t show up on standard medical tests.  A lot of this information isn’t accepted by the mainstream medical community, I believe, and I try to take things written by celebrity docs with a grain of salt. But I find it more credible than I might otherwise because it’s written by an M.D.

10. Please Understand Me: Character and Temperament Types by David Keirsey–I’m obsessed with Myers-Briggs now.  It explains so much–about my spouse, about my relationship with God, about myself.  I hope to read the sequel soon–Please Understand Me II: Character, Temperament, and Intelligence.

What did you enjoy reading this past year?  Do you notice a pattern in the books you liked most?

Happy new year to you all!

7 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2014

  1. My main takeaway question from What Alice Forgot was: how much of who you are is bound up in the person you are with? I found that book raised a lot of existential questions for me, as well as big questions about the nature of long term relationships.

    • Yeah that’s a good point. And you do get Boyd up with who you’re with. That’s the nature of marriage. And yet it’s natural to make the decision really young. So how does that work? It worked for me but its hard to explain how… My big takeaway from the book was that things change, people change, you yourself change, and there’s little you can do about all that change. The one thing you can control is whether you prioritize your marriage throughout all that change.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. I found “There is No Me Without You” (about a woman helping AIDS orphans in Ethiopia) to be eye opening. One of the most interesting books I read last year (non-fiction).

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

