Favorite movie musicals

Linking up with Jenna for Five Favorites . . .

Haley and Caroline, among others, have written lists of books that have had lasting impact.  Lately I’ve been thinking about the movies that have had the most lasting impact on me.  Surprisingly (or not?) they’re all light-hearted and most of them I watched in childhood.  Somehow they’ve kept a place in my heart.

Oh–I just noticed this–they’re all musicals.  That makes sense.

Roughly in order of when I first watched them:

WeeSing Together–the first VHS tape my parents bought.  Sally and her red dress.  Songs and lots of drama.  I loved it, and now my girls love it.

movies

The Greatest Show on Earth–the circus, lots of singing, sparkly costumes, love triangles, near-death heroics, and a tragic clown.  Charlton Heston and Jimmy Stewart.  My grandma taped this for us from TMC and we watched it over and over and over.

Hello Dolly with Barbra Streisand and Walter Matthau.  For some reason I still sing this line and crack myself up, “Out there, there’s a world outside of Yonkers, close your eyes and see it glisten, Barnaby.  Listen Barnaby!”  I am so weird, but that doesn’t mean this movie isn’t so so good.

White Christmas–My dear partner, when what’s left of you gets around to what’s left to be gotten, what’s left to be gotten won’t be worth getting, whatever it is you’ve got left.

That Thing You Do–music, cute guys, and the mod mod Sixties.  The perfect movie when you’re 14.  Or 24.  Or 34.

Bonus: Napolean Dynamite.  I saw this in theaters and thought, “They’ve made a movie about people like us!”  It’s not a musical, but it has arguably the world’s best dance routine and the world’s best love song.  So it kind of counts.

“Your mom goes to college.”

 

20 thoughts on “Favorite movie musicals

  1. Oh my goodness–We Sing! You just almost made me ugly cry watching the little preview on Amazon and remembering watching it over and over and over as a little girl, although that could be more to do with postpartum hormones than just reminiscing 🙂 I wanted to BE the girl in the red dress. Now I can’t decide if I need to buy We Sing Together right now and force my children to watch it until they can’t take it anymore or Grandpa’s Magical Toys………

  2. WeeSing! Our first WeeSing vhs was the Old King Cole one, but we also saw that original one with Sally (I think we rented it from the grocery store) and we ended up with the one about Grandpa’s toys too. That brings me back.

  3. How have I never heard of a musical w/ Charlton Heston and Jimmy Stewart? I need to watch that! And I love Hello Dolly- I tried showing my girls the Sunday Clothes dance scene but they got bored. At least they’ll watch most of the singing scenes in Sound of Music, so I’m hoping they’ll grow to love musicals. 😉

  4. I’ve actually never seen any of those – aside from Napoleon. I used to love Kindsongs movies when I was a kid. I need to get those out for my own…and locate a VHS player. Or just hit up YouTube 😉

    Thank you for linking up with me 🙂

    p.s. Can you bring me my chapstick? My lips hurt real bad.

    • Most of the Wee Sings are available on DVD now. But I’m a fan of VHS tapes anyway. We got a VHS player from a friend, and the tapes are practically free and in huge supply at thrift stores. Plus they don’t seem to get damaged as easily as DVDs.

      P.S. Hey, gimme some of yer tots!

      P.P.S. I meant to include Disney’s The Little Mermaid on this list . I watched it every day for a long stretch of time when I was about 8. My sisters and I would fight over who got to sing “Part of Your World.”

    • Newsies was a favorite in my husband’s family! And we have a recording of his little nephew singing “Seize the Day” at about 18 months old. . . . I think I saw it once but I wasn’t allowed to watch it or something. Mine was a deprived childhood. 😉

  5. That Thing You Do!! Guy Patterson always reminded me of Pat. I watched that movie for the first time in probably 8 years the other day, and I still know all the words!!

  6. There are so many good musicals! In high school I was in 5 of them, and Hello Dolly! Was the first. I’ll always remember those songs, the way we had to tease our hair for the Edwardian look, the way our Dolly studied Barbara Streisand’s accent and movements. “You’re looking great, Stanley, loose some weight….”

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

