What’s Saving My Life in this season of cold & the plague

And how a 1990s sitcom prepared me for Lent . . . .

Anne at Modern Mrs. Darcy has a great link up idea–“what’s saving my life.”  

Even though most of us can easily articulate what’s killing us, few of us pay attention to what’s giving us life.

We’ve had a sickness that just won’t end and has taken a variety of forms: cold for Girl 1, croup –> pneumonia for Girl 2, sinusitis for Pat and me + bronchitis for me.  So we’ve been cooped up and miserable, but these things have made it a bit less miserable:

1. Essential oils diffused in this diffuser.  I don’t know whether they actually do anything, although inhaled lavender oil has been shown to reduce asthma symptoms in mice.  They sure smell nice, though, which makes me feel better.  And they don’t give me a headache like cheap, chemically scented candles.

2. Neti Pot–for when I wake up with a headache and don’t know why.  Whaddya know?  It’s impacted snot.  Nothing like infusing your nostrils with salt water.  Hurts so good.

3. Down comforter–I got the warmest one I could find and “gave it to Pat” for Christmas.  It’s warmer even than the 4 or so mismatched regular comforters we had piled up on the bed.  Pricey, but oh so worth it.  Pat runs cold at night and he sleeps a lot better now.

4. Plush mattress pad–now I sleep better at night with this.  We have an extra firm mattress, which we bought relying on the common wisdom that firm mattresses are good for your back.  Eight years later, I found myself sleeping more comfortably on the couch.  When I slept on the bed, I felt more sore in the morning than in the evening.  Guess what?  Firm mattresses aren’t so good for bad backs.  There’s even a study to prove it.

5. Friends Season One--I get nostalgic watching this show even though I’ve never watched it much before.  And I think it’s more than a lingering fondness for crushed velour, turtlenecks, and the Rachel. Last night it hit me–that first season was filmed in 1994.  That’s over 20 years ago.  Twenty years ago. Last night I watched it and thought about how quickly life passes by and how close we are to death.

And that, my friends, was my segue into Ash Wednesday and Lent.  Never saw that coming.

Remember man, that you are dust and unto dust you shall return.

What’s saving your life this cold cold winter?

I’m linking up with Call Her Happy for Five Favorites, and I’ll link up with Modern Mrs. Darcy when she does the link up again.

12 thoughts on “What’s Saving My Life in this season of cold & the plague

  1. Sorry about all the sickness; hopefully it’s on the way out for good! Good scents around the home help me in the winter, too. And I’ve also been watching Friends and can’t believe how long ago it took place! I was thinking how I like watching a show filmed before internet/widespread cellphone usage/digital everything…I don’t know exactly why, I guess it’s nice to remember when times were simpler. 🙂

    • What you said reminds of the episode I watched last night. Rachel is sending out dozens of resumes, and Ross catches a typo (“compuper skills”). Rachel says, “Oh no! Do you think it’s on all of them.” Joey jokes, “Nah, I’m sure the xerox machine caught it.”

  2. My random thoughts: Best oil for illness is Thieves (you can buy the Germfighter blend from Plant Therapy for super cheap). I put a drop on my feet and my kids’ feet every night and it totally helps ward off germs. I LOVE my memory foam. Absolutely the best ever for a bad back. 1994, the year I graduated from high school. And life is so short. Never imagined that both of my parents would be gone 20 years later and they both died in their early 60s (2008, 2011). It’s quite possible that I’ve already passed the halfway mark on my life. 😦

  3. I will definitely have to look into that mattress pad. We have a sleep number that is less than 5 years old and it caves in in the middle. We are on vacation and are sleeping so much better on various guest beds. The difference is pretty dramatic: only waking up once per night versus 8+ times. Something has got to change . . . maybe a new pad would do it!
    ~Katherine

    • I had a similar revelation when I stayed at someone else’s house! My back was in knots; I hadn’t slept well for days. Then I slept like a baby. . . . I don’t know if the mattress pad would help a sagging mattress, though. Have you flipped it over? Or maybe you could prop up the middle with something underneath?

  4. Friends are saving my life right now! People willing to pick up a prescription for my husband (who has a nasty sinus infection). People willing to call and make sure I’m doing OK. People willing to give me a ride after work when the buses stop running. I haven’t met lots of close friends yet, but we’re started to build a good system.

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

