Do Your Kids Dress Themselves? {What We Wore Sunday}

Mine do.  I never thought I’d let them, but now I do.

It occurred to me that what they wear these days is much more interesting than anything I wear.

So this is what I wore yesterday to church–nothing worth blogging about really.  (Girl 1 pleaded, “Mommy, you have to wear a dress!  If you wear those pants–the priest is going to be mad at you!”  (He wasn’t.)).

IMG_8678

My Estiva ballet flats from Crocs are still holding strong (n.b. they run large).

Fact of the week you don’t need to know: I haven’t plucked my eyebrows, seriously, in months.  They’re not so tidy looking close-up but they’re not exactly out of control.  I may never go back.

This is what Girl 1 wore (Girl 2 already had changed by the time I took pictures):

IMG_8668 IMG_8667 IMG_8666

Girl 2 wore this Friday morning while we ran errands–look carefully and you can see a floral sundress she wore under her Frozen dress:

IMG_8643She insisted on changing into her “picnic clothes” and “picnic shoes” later that afternoon before we went to an end-of-the-year school picnic at the playground.

IMG_8655

I probably shouldn’t let her wear these shoes to the playground anymore.  But my sister went through a stage, at around the same age, of wearing dress-up high heel everyday, everywhere.  So there’s some nostalgia there for me.  My parents even let her wear them to church.  At our current parish, children aren’t the novelty they were at my parish growing up.  So letting your kid wear loud, clackety-clack shoes to church is like–ten demerits!  So we draw the line at wearing them church.

I hope you all are enjoying a lovely Memorial Day.  Click on over to Fine Linen and Purple for more What I Wore Sunday posts.

In more somber news, I’m participating this Wednesday in a blog-hop on maternal anxiety and depression, hosted by Katherine at Half-Kindled.  A bevy of talented bloggers are participating and writing on this important topic, including Bonnie at A Knotted Life, Jenna of Call Her Happy, Jenny of Mama Needs Coffee, and Rosie of Check Out That Sunset, so you should definitely check it out!

13 thoughts on “Do Your Kids Dress Themselves? {What We Wore Sunday}

  1. Cute! Did she pick out the red skirt for Pentecost? Looking forward to reading all the reflections in the upcoming blog hop.

  2. I am a mean mom. I have to approve everything they wear. We choose it the night before. I do give them total lead-way with their choice as long as its appropriate for what we have planned and kind of matches. And I always do their hair.
    Even though they “choose” their outfits since I buy their clothes almost everything matches. So Joseph wears all light blue/navy blue/gray. And Grace wears a lot of pink/stuff that matches pink. And I sneakily give away really ratty stuff that they wear over & over but I don’t like. I do let them wear princess/superman stuff out — they just have to be wearing shoes & again, have their hair done. So I guess I trick them into thinking they chose their outfit but I do “guide” them a lot.

  3. Sigh… I’m so torn on the dressing themselves issue. My mom let us do this, and she really didn’t give two hoots what we looked like, so I remember frequently being deeply embarrassed and offended by what my little sister Mary was allowed to wear out of the house. But, I do see the good aspects of kids (especially little girls) being able to pick their outfits. I don’t want to be a control freak mom, who micromanages how they look at all times. I don’t want to have power struggles with the kids over clothes because I want everyone to look “just so”. Anyway, it’s kind of a non-issue so far because Sara doesn’t really pick out her clothes yet. Sometimes she does, and if it’s a bum around the house or run to the grocery store kind of day, I’ll allow it. But I still pick outfits for Mass and playdates and parties, though. I’m sure I’ll relax more about it as the years go by and they get older.

  4. I love that top! I have to restrain myself from buying ALL the navy-and-white striped tops because they’re my favorite 🙂

    And I’ve mostly given up on getting anyone to let me dress them… I’ve tried to stick with solid tops & patterned bottoms so things mostly can’t clash TOO badly but sometimes I slip up in the purchasing department and they put the most heinous outfits together! But really, as long as we aren’t going to Mass and what they’re wearing is weather-appropriate, anything goes!

  5. Daily – kids get to choose, pretty much no restrictions. For Mass the rules are: clean, no stains, no holes, somewhat matching… but they still get to choose.

  6. You know, as much as I shudder at the geekiness of our old pictures, I think we probably did come out with a healthier sense of autonomy for dressing ourselves. I also hear about people’s weddings and how much their mothers dictated the details. I can’t imagine mom caring about what flowers we had or what appetizers were served. Glad to have that space.

    • Ditto to Liz. I remember those sweat pants that it seemed each of the brothers at some point wore CONSTANTLY and I was soooo embarrassed (while I was probably going through my own dress-like-a-certain-drummer phase😵). And thank God for Miss Kitty who just thought those plastic heels were the cutest things ever.

      • That’s funny, I barely remember the sweat pants. I mainly remember looking back at stuff I wore. I don’t know if my girls will forgive me for what I let them wear now, but the battle of wills is just not worth it.

      • Well, at least they’ll know you deliberated over the issue before letting them be released in the public eye.

  7. My seven year old chooses with me getting veto power for seasonal or venue appropriateness. My four year old is just starting and even my two now tells me when it is a ‘dress’ day. Glad you are still loving your Crocs!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

