Happy New Year!

Happy new year, friends!  A lot has happened since I last wrote here.  Most significantly, Little Guy arrived in mid-December:

IMG_9886

We are all in love with him.

IMG_9600

I’ve been determined to Take It Easy this postpartum time, for once.  So far, so good.  I’m feeling a lot like a glued-to-the-couch cow,

tumblr_mr4w0zskwa1sepuado1_400

but Little Guy is napping well today, so maybe we’ve turned a corner, maybe.  And I’m so happy not to be pregnant anymore.

Seriously, I’ve left the house for two pediatrician appointments, Christmas day Mass, Christmas dinner at my in-laws, and one walk around the neighborhood.  That’s it!  Even my homebody self is getting cabin fever, but this postpartum experience is so much better than the last two, so I’m sticking with what works.

These days I’m

reading:

Lactivism: How Feminists and Fundamentalists, Hippies and Yuppies, and Physicians and Politicians Made Breastfeeding Big Business and Bad Policy

(Pretty ironic reading this while nursing almost constantly. What’s going on here in my subconscious? . . . I read an interesting review in the Wall Street Journal before Little Guy was born, so anyway.)

The Conflict: How Modern Motherhood Undermines the Status of Women (I don’t agree with a lot of her premises but it’s interesting reading a modern feminist/ French perspective on the low-birth-rate crisis in the West.)

I Believe in LoveA Personal Retreat Based on the Teaching of St. Thérèse of Lisieux

watching:

Homeland.  So addicted.  I’m beginning Season 3, which is not the best, but I hear it improves in Seasons 4 and 5.  Claire Danes is so good, as is Inigo Montoya, uh, I mean, Mandy Pitinkin.

e5d79396_995588c5d38437156f87205fb99806df9ad2418a753995d2c66559c96dde28c1

Damien Lewis is good too, but I’m sick of the whole Brody/Carrie thing.  I’m inclined to agree with Saul (pardon the French):

38687931b4d7fb1ee496949dd5d20a21

During the day, I watch a whole bunch of Strawberry Shortcake Berry Bitty Adventures

and The Magic Schoolbus.  Over and over and over and over and . . .

We’re so ready for school to start back up.

eating:

whatever delicious meals my kind friends make me, plus Cliff bars and lots of yogurt

wearing:

ratty old yoga pants and tee-shirts and pajama pants.  I just ordered the Metro Skinny pants from Athleta (currently on sale), hoping they’ll do the trick when it’s time to go out into the world.

Baby’s sureto wake up any minute so I’ll leave off here.  Thanks to everyone out there still reading this blog!

17 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Have you watched any of the Miss Fisher Murder Mysteries series? On Netflix. I’m loving it since it fills the need for costume drama since Downton Abbey is wrapping up. 😦 Anyway other than West Wing and DA its the first show I’ve ever made past first few episodes.

  2. Oh I’m so glad you’re doing well and taking it easy! Enjoy your well deserved lie-in. 🙂 And I will enjoy what you’ve been reading!

  3. Congratulations!! He is gorgeous! I was wondering what happened to you! So glad you are taking it easy and having a good postpartum recovery.

  4. Ha, here I am thinking I *don’t* want “school” back because it’s so nice not having any commitments! I think we might take this whole week off as well, aside from atrium… I do what I want!

    Also I’m seriously impressed that you’re managing to stay home – I’m THE WORST at taking it easy post partum, and whenever we have another baby I’m hoping I’m not a dummy and actually sit around and heal instead of trying to do all the things right away just because I’m so happy not to be pregnant anymore!

  5. Congrats on the new arrival! We binged watched the latest season of Homeland in like 3 days. So good. Gotta love postpartum couch confinement!

  6. Congrats on the baby boy!! He is SO cute! It’s so nice to be able to rest after a birth–sometimes I’ve been good about it, other times not. But it does worlds for my health–especially mental. 🙂
    Also, if you have AmazonPrime, watch the Man in the High Castle!. Really riveting!

Feel like commenting? Please do. I usually respond here in the comment box.

